UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Jan 2018, 9:55 am   #1
collisr
Pentode

Default ESR meter - In circuit capacitor testing?

Hi there.

I am new to vintage video restoration and looking for a quick method to identify bad capacitors - the ones that aren't leaking/bulging but are causing the circuit to misbehave.

My question is about ESR meters that claim you can test capacitors in-circuit - i.e. not desoldering any legs!. In your experience, is this possible? I am looking for strong indications that a capacitor is bad based on its ESR value - not a 100% accurate ESR reading.

Would a pre-assembled model such as https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/112510620302 be of value for this type of investigation.

All recommendations and advice welcome

Rob
Old 18th Jan 2018, 10:15 am   #2
sortedradio
Heptode

Default Re: ESR meter - In circuit capacitor testing?

Hi Rob,
Firstly as I'm sure you know an ESR meter will only identify bad electrolytic capacitors. I use an Atlas ESR70 meter, and it is pretty good at in circuit testing. Where an ESR meter won't help is where you have an inductor, i.e. transformer winding, coil etc, or low resistance in parallel with the capacitor under test. In that case lift one leg of the capacitor if possible.

Martin
Old 18th Jan 2018, 10:29 am   #3
GMB
Dekatron

I would go further by saying that as it measures ESR then it only detects bad electrolytic capacitors that have failed by going high ESR - which in my experience is only a subset of bad ones in general.

They are handy things to have, but not a definitive diagnostic for capacitor problems by a long way.