UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Aug 2019, 10:58 am   #1
jubilado
Triode

Default Armstrong 626 transistor equivalents

Hi, as an absolute newbie I have been trying to improve (gain) some knowledge by "refurbishing" a couple of Armstrong 626 receivers.
I am currently looking to replace some components on the Z20 board and seeking guidance about replacing the transistors on there.

1. I have 2 circuit diagrams, (an early model and a late model) but both show a BC267 as one of the transistors. Is there a modern equivalent of this as I can't see this model on Farnell or RS sites or am I safe to buy from eBay?

2. The other transistor is shown as a 2N5294 on the early model and 16351 on the later. One of the two receivers I have is fitted with a 16351 and the other with TIP122 - are these equivalents?
Old 10th Aug 2019, 12:56 pm   #2
Herald1360
Dekatron

Default Re: Armstrong 626 transistor equivalents

BC267 is a run of the mill 50V 375mW NPN silicon transistor and can probably be replaced by anything similar.

Can't find 16351, it sounds like an RCA code but may be an in-house special. The plot then thickens- 2N5194 and TIP122 are very different- one's a NPN power transistor, the other a NPN power darlington (two cascaded transistors inside).

Have you got circuit information that might help pin things down? Are the circuit symbols the same or different?
.........O..Chris....O
Old 10th Aug 2019, 1:30 pm   #3
paulsherwin

Also, why do you want to replace these transistors? Are they faulty? If so, how have you determined that?