UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Mar 2018, 8:21 pm   #1
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,597
Default Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

I am currently trying to connect up this item according to the instructions in the page I have attached below. This would be straightforward if I had the specialised connections box illustrated. Unfortunately I don't - and I'm unclear how connectors (which are RJ45s as used for Ethernet) relate to the line and telephone connections shown. If anyone has knowledge of this, I would be grateful for any guidance.

The complete manual (from which I extracted the page below) can be found at http://www.britishtelephones.com/mit...e%20manual.pdf.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf euroroute 4 line connection.pdf (22.3 KB, 35 views)
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2018, 10:49 pm   #2
AndiiT
Octode
 
AndiiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Saltburn-East, Cleveland, UK.
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

You have a PM
AndiiT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 12:18 am   #3
rambo1152
Heptode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 686
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

How I hated myself installing these things for XXX telecom promising the customer genuine least cost routing, only to return a few months later with the news that BT can now give you a better deal and can I bypass the boxes I installed last time?

Click image for larger version

Name:	SMART1.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	159191

There was another type of Krone box that dispensed with the DIP switches, and had a plastic "comb" that you pulled out to short together the line and equipment sides.

I'm sure you could improvise, and use a different box or the existing NTTP.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 9:09 am   #4
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,597
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Thanks, AndiiT, for the PM - to which I have replied.

Fortunately, Graham, I'm not intending to use these "in anger", so as long as Andi can point me to the information about pin assignments, I can take it from there.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 12:15 pm   #5
dagskarlsen
Hexode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 375
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

The 2 mid contacts goes to CO, the 2 outer goes to the phone.

Pinout of UK and US versions are equal, programming pretty unequal.

dsk
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 12:25 pm   #6
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,597
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Thank you. By "CO" I assume you mean the telephone line.

So, only four of the eight connections are used? I wonder, therefore, why they chose to use an RJ45.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 12:31 pm   #7
dagskarlsen
Hexode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 375
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Page 12 here : https://www.***********/document/200...Dialer-Manuals

dsk
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 12:44 pm   #8
dagskarlsen
Hexode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 375
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Moll View Post
Thank you. By "CO" I assume you mean the telephone line.

So, only four of the eight connections are used? I wonder, therefore, why they chose to use an RJ45.

I just have to guess, it may be according to a US standard for RJ31x

I use my Smart-1 for converting between Pulse and tone, and tone and pulse to get my SXS on VOIP.

To keep the purring dial tone on my SXS without killing the dtmf, I have programmed the Smart-1 for silent and are leaking dial tone by having a pair of small capacitors between ring in and ring out, and tip in and tip out.

In the UK, Ian Jolly is the most skilled person in my knowledge using Smart-1.

Since I am the only one in I know using this in Norway, I guess I may be the most skilled here but that is far from good.

dsk
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 1:18 pm   #9
dagskarlsen
Hexode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 375
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

One more thing, some of my network cables does not work on the Smart-1 some does, maybe the contact wires in the jack are to wide for the plug? My DIY plugs works OK.

dsk
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 3:28 pm   #10
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,597
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Quote:
Originally Posted by dagskarlsen View Post
Unfortunately, this link appears to have been "censored" by the forum software!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dagskarlsen View Post
One more thing, some of my network cables does not work on the Smart-1 some does, maybe the contact wires in the jack are to wide for the plug? My DIY plugs works OK.
Or do some Ethernet cables not connect all eight wires?
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 6:35 pm   #11
dagskarlsen
Hexode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 375
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

You could try this: goo.gl/J1uSpi

If that makes problems, I may email you the PDF of 24+ MB

dsk

PS my cables are tested and all 8 wires are correct. DS
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Mar 2018, 9:15 pm   #12
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,597
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Thanks. I have now successfully extracted the wiring diagram from page 12 of the manual, and I'll have a play tomorrow.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2018, 11:41 am   #13
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 13,398
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Moll View Post
Thank you. By "CO" I assume you mean the telephone line.
CO=Central Office ie exchange?
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2018, 3:33 pm   #14
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,597
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Thanks. Yes, I should have said that I have managed to establish that in the mean time from the above-mentioned wiring diagram.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2018, 4:37 pm   #15
dagskarlsen
Hexode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 375
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Nice to hear, this unit is the only I have found reliable on changing tone to pulse.

dsk
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2018, 11:32 am   #16
dagskarlsen
Hexode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 375
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

I forgot to mention, polarity may be of importance.

dsk
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2018, 5:03 pm   #17
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,597
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

I have indeed been careful to maintain correct polarity throughout the wiring.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2018, 6:19 pm   #18
rambo1152
Heptode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 686
Default Re: Mitel Smart-1 Euroroute 4 line dialler

Ah yes. Memories of payphones that started to charge when the Smart-1 cut through, instead of when the called party answered.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:47 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.