UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Nov 2005, 11:29 pm   #1
shawthing
Retired Dormant Member

Question Running USA 60Hz motors on UK 50Hz mains

Hello All, first proper post from a new member, been lurking and learning a while though... ...I'm looking to run a couple of 115volt US reel to reel machines here in the UK, and have the two problems of the speed being wrong and of the motors overheating; I'm new to electronics (though with many years as a recording engineer behind me), but from the little I've learned so far, I understand the motors have the correct number of windings for 60Hz and when running on 50Hz, they overheat (and I have found this to be the case!). Can anyone offer any advice: 50Hz to 60Hz converters are available I've found, but at huge sums (and sizes), so not an option unless unavoidable; I'd also prefer not to swap out the motors for UK ones, though if nothing else will work...
Re. the incorrect speed, I'm hoping to correct that by changing out a wheel / pulley for one of a different size. Also, BTW, I searched the forum before posting this, and found a previous thread which touched on the overheating problem, but hadn't offered any solutions...
Any help gratefully received, Chas
Old 25th Nov 2005, 1:07 am   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Running USA 60Hz motors on UK 50Hz mains