UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 2nd Apr 2020, 4:39 pm   #1
Mikpowl49
Diode

Default Beolit 600 - Add Bluetooth, ground polarity problem

Hi, a newbie here, so please be kind and forgive my ignorance!

I've just rescued a Beolit 600 from junk status and I'm trying to make it into a more useable device by adding Bluetooth. The idea is to do this by adding internal components and not damaging the existing equipment. I've sourced a miniature Bluetooth board and the plan was to drive this from the switched 7.5V dc supply inside the set and to feed the output to the Aux or Line-in channel on the main board. The problem is that the Beolit is positive ground, but it seems that the ground on the bluetooth output is interconnected with the negative feed i.e. negative ground. This gives a dead short circuit between the positive and negative grounds. Is there any way that I could 'decouple' the feed from the Bluetooth card from the line-in circuit so that the ground polarity is not a factor? or any other suggestion? Thanks, Mike
Old 2nd Apr 2020, 8:19 pm   #2
Goldieoldie
Octode

Default Re: Beolit 600 - Add Bluetooth, ground polarity problem

Hi
You could use a minature audio transformer ( available on eBay ) or from a scrap radio
That would give you the isolation
Cheers
Pete
Old 3rd Apr 2020, 9:46 am   #3
Mikpowl49
Diode

Great thanks, Pete. I shall give it a try.
Old 3rd Apr 2020, 8:21 pm   #4
Goldieoldie
Octode

This ebay number ( type it in the search box ) 120788551407 might be suitable
The same seller sells one with a low impedance .
It depends on where you are interfacing
They are so cheap you could buy both both to experiment!
Cheers
Pete
Old 3rd Apr 2020, 8:37 pm   #5