UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 4th Mar 2013, 8:51 pm   #1
nebogipfel
Pentode

Default Hacker AF117 best alternatives?

Good evening all,

I have been reading older posts and it looks like the recommended best replacement for AF 117's is the AF12* series.

I thought before I spend my limited hard earned cash I'd just seek to clarify that this is the case, and that as a beginner I am going for the best option. I note that AF125 are readily available at around £3 each but I see that AF121 are a bit cheaper, will they also work OK?

I am specifically looking at parts suited to direct replacements in a Sovereign and Sovereign II without any modifications to the supporting circuitry.

I appreciate this topic has been discussed but thought it would be worth asking because someone may be aware of a new source of transistors or indeed another recently discovered alternative which works well.

Thanks

Edit. My most recent Sovereign (an early black one) has a white grille on the rear cover, I assume this is an incorrect replacement?

Last edited by nebogipfel; 4th Mar 2013 at 8:57 pm. Reason: Added question
Old 4th Mar 2013, 9:55 pm   #2
mhennessy
Dekatron

Default Re: Hacker AF117 best alternatives?

Hi John,

The AF127 contains the same piece of germanium as the AF117 - it's just that it's in a different package, one that doesn't suffer from the tin whisker problem. Same applies to the AF124, 125, 126.

You might find it a bit tricky because the AF12X devices have shorter leads that might not reach the holes on the PCB.

Make sure you're happy about the lead-outs. They are not in a row like they are in the AF11X series.

And yes, many of the RP18s had white grilles