UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 30th Jun 2011, 8:43 am   #1
AndrewLincs
Retired Dormant Member

Default Low power MW transmitter?

As one radio has become five and the MW band seems a sad shadow of it's former self, I thought a small am transmitter might be a good idea.

I see the Gizmo is available, but I was wondering if these are legal to use in the UK?

As a licensed radio amateur I wouldn't want to upset the authorities.

Regards

Andrew
Old 30th Jun 2011, 8:56 am   #2
Andy Doz
Hexode

Default Re: Low power MW transmitter?

Unfortunately not.

FM band, yes ... AM sadly not
Old 30th Jun 2011, 8:58 am   #3
bluepilot
Heptode

With suitable attenuation, you can always feed the output straight into the antenna socket.

The golden age is always yesterday - Asa Briggs
Old 30th Jun 2011, 8:59 am   #4
Station X

The legality of micro transmitters has been discussed in the forums many times. See this thread for example:-

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...ad.php?t=50014

Reach for your meter before you reach for your soldering iron.
Old 30th Jun 2011, 9:07 am   #5
AndrewLincs
Retired Dormant Member

Thanks Graham, obviously I need to hone my search skills as I didn't find that thread!

At a local museum, they have a low power transmitter, but they do display a licence for it, I wonder if this is available to individuals, I may speak with the authorities and see what they say...

Regards

Andrew
Old 30th Jun 2011, 9:17 am   #6
Station X

If they say "No" what will you do then? Deliberately operate a micro transmitter knowing it to be illegal?