UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 19th Jul 2010, 10:36 pm   #1
darren brown
Retired Dormant Member

Smile Hacker Super Sovereign RP75 woes

I am a newbie and therefore on a steep learning curve.

I recently picked up a Hacker Super Sovereign RP75 fairly cheap and I am a happy man but a little confused. The set works fine on long, medium and FM bands with impressive performance, but is somewhat lacking when i am tuning round the two short wave bands. The set seems to respond when I attach a long wire antenna to the external socket.

Is this common? Any ideas gratefully received.

Last edited by Station X; 19th Jul 2010 at 10:39 pm. Reason: FSK.
Old 20th Jul 2010, 9:30 am   #2
SeanStevens
Octode

Default Re: Hacker Super Sovereign RP75 woes

I would set it on a SW station (without any additional aerial), then touch the tellescopic aerial with your hand, then a metal object.

If the sound changes and/or you can hear the metal touching the aerial, the radio is using the tellescopic aerial. If not, it may not be connected to the tuner.

If no change is detected, the radio is probably not using the tellescopic aerial at all. It will work fine on LW because it uses the ferrite (internal aerial)

SEAN
Old 20th Jul 2010, 9:41 am   #3
SeanStevens
Octode

So Sorry, forgot to say WELCOME to the forum.

Is the FM working REALLY well? Is it possible it is only picking up stong signals?

SEAN
Old 2nd Aug 2010, 10:49 pm   #4
darren brown
Retired Dormant Member

Thumbs up Re: Hacker Super Sovereign RP75 woes

Sound advice Sean. Looks like there are some dry joints and I will check for continuity.