UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Other Discussions > Homebrew Equipment

Notices

Homebrew Equipment A place to show, design and discuss the weird and wonderful electronic creations from the hands of individual members.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Jul 2008, 6:11 pm   #1
marknotts
Retired Dormant Member

Default 1st valve project

I'm new to this interesting forum so 1st off Hello to all!

Can anyone suggest a really simple valved receiver project suitable for a beginner like myself. I have a reasonable understanding of electrical components, a good selection of tools but my only test equipment is a multi meter!
Old 24th Jul 2008, 7:42 pm   #2
The sarge
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: 1st valve project

Hi, im on my first radio, a Bush DAC 90A it`s not been too bad, mainly needed a good clean and a few bit`s replacing...not too taxing even for me !!!
Old 24th Jul 2008, 7:43 pm   #3
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

Yes, if you're talking about restoration/repair rather than building from scratch, you can't beat a DAC90A - everything's very accessible, and there's a wealth of info here about them.
Old 24th Jul 2008, 7:57 pm   #4
marknotts
Retired Dormant Member

I'd like to build from scratch!
Old 24th Jul 2008, 8:38 pm   #5
Sideband
Dekatron

Probably the best thing is to look on eBay and buy a couple of cheap 50's style radio's. That way nothing much is lost if things go wrong and you learn in the process plus you end up with some spares that could be useful for future attempts. Chances are you'll get at least one of them going which will inspire you to get on with the next....and the next....!

Rich.
Old 24th Jul 2008, 8:40 pm   #6
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

And they're sometimes given away FREE here
Old 24th Jul 2008, 9:09 pm   #7
Ed_Dinning
Dekatron