UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Old 26th May 2024, 3:51 am   #1
Croozer
Pentode

Default Sony tc500 - obvious motor fault missed

I have long wanted a stereo r2r, and a Sony tc500 was local at a very reaasonable £40.

2 heads & 1 motor, so not exactly pro. Quality, but it claims 12khz , well above my post-rave hearing, and it is a heafty-engineered bit of kit.

However, it's speed was erratic; slowing down. I dismissed it as beyond repair, blaming worn rubbers, or a clutch turned to goo in the drive.

Fortunately, I work in the power industry; and after establishing what type of motor was used, it was swiftly put to me that a failed motor run capacitor would be an easy attempted fix for a hysteresis motor.

The machine was built with a split 1.5mF/0.5mF component for 50 vs 60Hz mains (neat speed solution I assume!) So a £3 2mF component from the hoover/washing machine spares shop on the corner effected the necessary repair.

I appreciate this is probably an obvious fault, but it's one I would never have seen; nor without colleagues whose day job is (much bigger) synchronous devices, I would never have seen, so I post to share their knowledge.

Speed now constant and playback is good, but distortion on left track record. Suspect a coupling condenser somewhere in the signal path. Nearly there!

EDIT - missing image
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20240524_220618.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	87.8 KB
ID:	298033   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240524_233751.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	89.3 KB
ID:	298034  
Croozer is offline   Reply With Quote