UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Aug 2019, 10:40 pm   #21
ssnjimb
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evesham, Worcestershire, UK.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Is that due to the optical tape sensor/switch)

James
ssnjimb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2019, 1:14 am   #22
John123
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Luton, Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 639
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Yes, and it can lead to much head-scratching!
__________________
Regards,
John
John123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2019, 10:54 am   #23
vhs doctor
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Athens, Greece.
Posts: 111
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Hi
The tape counter for 3 seconds measures or not ( in any function FF, REW, PLAY)?
vhs doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2019, 12:07 pm   #24
toshiba tony
Heptode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 580
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Hitachi, Sharp and LG were the biggest offenders to be affected by external light. Between us all I think we have got the guy sorted. Aiding engineers on the phone was one of my roles at Sony,80's, although it's rusty these days. This is a fantastic site in helping people.
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2019, 12:14 pm   #25
toshiba tony
Heptode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 580
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

I think on this model the tape counter and tape used counter works on the time honoured method of ACE pulses. If the pulses are absent this wont stop the tape. Whereas take up reel pulses will.
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2019, 12:19 pm   #26
vhs doctor
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Athens, Greece.
Posts: 111
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

As i remember this mechanism does not have option for. ACE pulse. JVC use these mechanisms in HR-D150/140.
The first mechanism which use ACE pulse was in HR-D5** models.
vhs doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2019, 12:59 pm   #27
toshiba tony
Heptode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 580
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Right, not in the trade now, stayed in it till two years ago, at LG, sorting their LCD\LED rubbish out. Still have two VHS machines in regular use. They get neglected. One is a Philips turbo deck that doesnt require grease, but the mini gear on the end of the shaft breaks, and the other a Sony that recently died due to the mains smoother going S\C. But down to to you, who's obviously more familiar with this model I'll just watch. Curious though, take care,
Tony Walker
PS But I think he's a lot better off now than when he first posted about his faulty Thorn. As I said before, people on here take the extra step. I was made global moderator on a similar site years ago, and enjoyed sorting people.
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Sep 2019, 9:46 am   #28
Vauxfan2k
Hexode
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Inverness, Highland, UK.
Posts: 300
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

283589322931 ebay item number for the belt kit for this machine.

I did notice from working on mine that they dont like to operate in bright light with the lid off.

Theres also one of the capacitors on the power supply if faulty stops the machine playing when initially laced up.
Vauxfan2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Sep 2019, 10:27 am   #29
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 6,964
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Ditto with most end sensors do not like much light. I.E Nat Pan,s.
__________________
G8JET BVWS Member and V.M.A.R.S
HamishBoxer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2019, 10:30 am   #30
ssnjimb
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evesham, Worcestershire, UK.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Hello


What is the number and position of said capacitor.

I think it's that.

James
ssnjimb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2019, 8:07 pm   #31
Vauxfan2k
Hexode
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Inverness, Highland, UK.
Posts: 300
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Trying to remember, I've repaired so many, and currently own over 50 ferguson machines now.

I checked the circuit protectors and found one was blown, also replaced the capacitor marked. That was enough for my machine to get it working.

Now that the winter is coming il be getting stuck back into the ones I've been buying over the summer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190911_200455.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	189996  
Vauxfan2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2019, 9:46 pm   #32
dj_fivos_sak
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Lefkada, Greece
Posts: 703
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Because these machines didn't thread the tape during FF/REW, it wasn't possible to implement a tape counter that measures pulses from the control track. Sony did that in some models like the SL-C30 since on most Betamax machines the tape stays threaded in all modes, but they didn't feature a real-time counter.

Fivos
dj_fivos_sak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2019, 3:25 am   #33
toshiba tony
Heptode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 580
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

So didn't they half load then? Not even round the audio\ctl head. This particular deck I don't recall.
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2019, 2:18 pm   #34
ssnjimb
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evesham, Worcestershire, UK.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Hello Everyone

After cleaning everything inside etc.

I tested a tape with the cover on and

It works very well indeed.


Iam starting another thread for my 1982 Santo vtc 5000 as it needs it's power supply rebuilding.

It also needs servicing in the electronics.

James
ssnjimb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2019, 4:05 pm   #35
ssnjimb
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evesham, Worcestershire, UK.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Is the 3v55 mono sound ?

I have a 7 pin din plug with 2 RCA's left and right but have no audio

Video obviously works

James
ssnjimb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2019, 12:10 pm   #36
dj_fivos_sak
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Lefkada, Greece
Posts: 703
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

James

Usually the DIN audio connector on these old JVC machines provides mono audio input and output. At least that's the case with my HR-3330, HR-7700, HR-D110 and HR-D120.

Fivos
dj_fivos_sak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2019, 2:06 pm   #37
ssnjimb
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evesham, Worcestershire, UK.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

Hello fivos

Thankyou for your reply

How do I connect it to a stereo TV to get sound. I'm currently getting nothing.

Video out works better than RF out.

James
ssnjimb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2019, 2:42 pm   #38
julie_m
Dekatron
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Derby, UK.
Posts: 7,384
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

The audio output will be on pins 3 and 5, with 2 common. A 7-pin DIN socket might additionally carry video on pin 6 (in) and 7 (out).

Note the pins are NOT numbered in order 1-2-3-4-5-6-7 as you might na´vely expect, but 6-1-4-2-5-3-7; this is because the original standard was 3 pins for two-way mono audio with a common earth, then later pins 4 and 5 were added to give stereo audio but a 3-pin plug would still fit the 5-pin socket, and even later pins 6 and 7 were added for additional signals.
__________________
If I have seen further than others, it is because I was standing on a pile of failed experiments.
julie_m is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2019, 10:34 am   #39
ssnjimb
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evesham, Worcestershire, UK.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

But how do I use it. Newer videostars like the 3v65 has it labeled audio in and out. Is it switched. I'm sorry if I'm not understanding

James
ssnjimb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2019, 2:56 pm   #40
julie_m
Dekatron
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Derby, UK.
Posts: 7,384
Default Re: Ferguson 3V55 Videostar VCR

The DIN socket is switched when being used as an input -- i.e., it's only used when the TUNER / AUX switch is in the AUX position -- but whatever audio is being sent to the RF modulator (usually TV sound) will come out of pins 3 and 5 of the DIN socket all the time.

How is your DIN-to-RCA cable wired?
__________________
If I have seen further than others, it is because I was standing on a pile of failed experiments.
julie_m is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 9:13 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.