UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 11th Sep 2019, 10:12 pm   #1
JUSTDAMO
Triode

Default Bush DAC 90 shorting electric

Hi,

I have a bush dac 90 radio, a few months ago without warning it cut out and shorted the top half of the main electric in the house. I have changed the fuse and retried but the same thing happend.... I am guessing something component has gone but which part I don't have a clue.

I am no expert on radios just to put that out there but if its a simple part replacement I could certainly learn.

Thanks for your comments in advance
Old 11th Sep 2019, 11:05 pm   #2
Tractionist
Heptode

Default Re: Bush DAC 90 shorting electric

Is the radio a Bush DAC 90 or 90A? The DAC 90's commenced production in the 1940's - therefore your radio could well be seventy years old. So my question is: when was it last serviced?

These particular radios do not feature a mains isolating transformer - rather, mains power is supplied via a rear two pin proprietary plug [with no earth!] and the chassis of the set is 'live'. Any number of problems may have developed within your set, ranging from a shorted old wax/paper capacitor to a blown resistance [shorted to chassis]. One particular regular culprit tends to be the mains RF by-pass capacitor.

In any event, I would counsel that you don't even attempt to use or repair this set. It sounds to me as though it needs a through service with MANY aging and defective parts replacing. Please note that failure to follow this advice could [personal physical safety issues notwithstanding] result in further damage to the set - particularly to certain scarce and expensive components e.g. audio output valves and output transformers etc.