UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 28th Jun 2018, 10:31 pm   #1
markallanwainwr
Retired Dormant Member

Default Pioneer CT-300 Belts

I've just spent the last few hours trawling trough the pages for info/advice concerning a Pioneer CT 300 cassette player. Found a few pages relevant but they were in closed threads. I need to replace the belts but I have no idea how to go about it, of course I need to clean up the black mess left by the old ones.
Is it something a complete novice could do? I'm not an idiot, a marine engineer by trade. I've got the service manual, got all the time in the World and a selection of about 50 belts....surely 3 must be the right size? Can anyone offer advice please how I should tackle this task?
Old 29th Jun 2018, 4:48 am   #2
TonyDuell
Dekatron

Default Re: Pioneer CT-300 Belts

You can get the service manual for this deck from hifiengine (you have to register with them, but it's free).

I've just looked at said manual, most of it is on the electronic side. The only really relevant page is an exploded diagram of the mechanism, which does show the belts. I guess they thought that replacing the belts was pretty obvious given that diagram and having the machine in front of you. The only thing I would add is do not touch any of the screws on the tape head mountings (there is no reason why you would but...) as you would then have to do the full alignment which needs an 'azimuth' tape.

The capstan belt looks like a flat one in the diagram, do you have any of those?
Old 29th Jun 2018, 4:40 pm   #3
markallanwainwr