UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 28th Mar 2019, 4:06 pm   #1
el gringo
Tetrode

Default Ferguson 382U Firefly not playing ball

Hi,

I've been working on and off for the last 6 months on our old family radio, which has been unused for many years. I've replaced a number of caps and resistors and I think 4 out of the 6 valves.

I now have Audio amplification at last, but nothing as far as AM or FM

I know my heaters are now all working and I've had a scope on the IF stages and can see nothing.

One thing that still puzzles me is what appears to be the VERY high HT on the anode of my "V2" A (463V) and B (231V) on a UCH81, with zero volts on the Grid, according to my 500V standard DVM

Does anyone know what could be causing this at all?

Any suggestions welcomed!
Old 28th Mar 2019, 4:51 pm   #2
Nuvistor
Dekatron

Default Re: Fergusonb 382U Firefly not playing ball

Worthwhile confirming your DVM is working correctly, the DC voltage from the UY85 is only 252v.
Old 28th Mar 2019, 6:32 pm   #3
PJL
Dekatron

Default Re: Ferguson 382U Firefly not playing ball

B is the mixer anode and is about right. A is the oscillator anode so either you have the decimal point missing or your meter is not happy with the RF.

I suggest you start with MW and try measuring the voltages again. Pin 9 is the oscillator grid and should be -ve if oscillating. Pin 8 is the oscillator anode (your A) and if it is much lower than the trader value then the oscillator is not running.
Old 29th Mar 2019, 10:33 am   #4
jonnybear
Octode

Have you checked the voltages on V2 with the radio switched to FM and then AM, and compared? Check C21, C23, C24. make sure wave change switches are clean.