UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Computers

Notices

Vintage Computers Any vintage computer systems, calculators, video games etc., but with an emphasis on 1980s and earlier equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st Aug 2019, 9:41 pm   #1
JohnBHanson
Hexode
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Worthing, Sussex, UK.
Posts: 431
Default Teletype KSR-33

A very quick question - as I don't have one of these how does it react to being sent lower case characters from a computer does
1. Print a space
2. Print nothing
3. Print the upper case character
4. Something else

I have looked at the documentation and it is not much help. If anyone has one of these I wonder if they could let me know.

Many thanks.
JohnBHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2019, 5:15 am   #2
TonyDuell
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Biggin Hill, London, UK.
Posts: 3,311
Default Re: Teletype KSR-33

As far as I know it will print the equivalent upper case character
TonyDuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2019, 10:57 am   #3
Slothie
Pentode
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 144
Default Re: Teletype KSR-33

I used to have access to an ASR-33 which is basically the same thing with a paper tape punch/reader and that would print the uppercase of lowercase letters sent to it.
Slothie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2019, 2:07 pm   #4
TonyDuell
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Biggin Hill, London, UK.
Posts: 3,311
Default Re: Teletype KSR-33

The 'typing unit' is much the same between the KSR and ASR versions so both should show the same behaviour. An ASR will punch a received lower case character as lower case (all bits on the tape are the bits it received) and will send a lower case character from tape as lower case.

I have a couple of Model 33 ASR's here (one Teletype, one Data Dynamics 390, which is the same mechanism) along with the manuals, but neither have been run for some years so I don't want to turn them on without going over the lubrication instructions which will take a bit of time. I can do it if necessary though.
TonyDuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:59 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.