UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps)

Notices

Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps) If you need help obtaining components, sets or equipment, post a message here. Private buyers only - no traders. No swaps.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th Jan 2019, 10:33 pm   #1
Chris_jenkin
Diode
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Upminster, East London, UK.
Posts: 5
Default Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

Hi I've just acquired a Dynatron Cavalcade Record Player but it is missing the power cable - Its a small 3 round pin but I cant find a plug to fit. I'm not used to valves - is there anything I'd need to do before powering it up - assuming I can find a connector ?
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynatron power connection .jpg
Views:	110
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	177378  
Chris_jenkin is offline  
Old 30th Jan 2019, 9:09 am   #2
snowman_al
Hexode
 
snowman_al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Llandeilo, West Wales, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

Hi Chris,
The plug that fits is a ''Bulgin 5 Amp, 3 pin''. (Bulgin SA-1862).

They are no longer made, due to changes in mains connection legislation.
Since they are used on a lot of old valve equipment, Dynatron, Leak, Marshall, VOX etc., they have become rather expensive to replace.

Unless a kind member has one, search ebay.
Be careful to note the position of the small cut out on your socket. It is between two pins, top on your picture. The plug you need has to have its key in the same position. (There are versions with the key opposite one pin which will not fit.)

''... is there anything I'd need to do before powering it up?''
Go to the Vintage Audio section, have a read of the stickies and post a new thread asking for advice perhaps?

Good luck, Alan
snowman_al is offline  
Old 30th Jan 2019, 11:03 am   #3
Chris_jenkin
Diode
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Upminster, East London, UK.
Posts: 5
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

Thanks very much for the information Alan

You're right they are expensive!
Chris_jenkin is offline  
Old 30th Jan 2019, 11:15 am   #4
paulsherwin
Moderator
 
paulsherwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 18,440
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

You can fit a different mains socket, or use a permanently wired connection through a grommet. You should only attempt this if you are technically competent to do so, as it can be dangerous if done incorrectly.
paulsherwin is offline  
Old 30th Jan 2019, 12:23 pm   #5
dave walsh
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ramsbottom (Nr Bury) Lancs or Bexhill (Nr Hastings) Sussex.
Posts: 4,413
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

Re your initial post Chris, I would have said that the first thing you need to do is not to power it up immediately. This is to avoid damage-it's the best part of 50 years old! Good advice from Alan and our Moderator. If you are more experienced than you seem to be-my apologies.

Should you search this site [the panel above] re the Cavalcade, there are a number of threads. The one from 2012 gives a good idea of what needs to be checked out. Most of the others appear to end very quickly.

Dave W
dave walsh is offline  
Old 30th Jan 2019, 9:19 pm   #6
RojDW48
Octode
 
RojDW48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,638
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

The reason these failed safety legislation IIRC is the fact they can be disassembled without the use of any tools (they unscrew). Worth bearing in mind if you have inquisitive small children in the house.
__________________
'....don't go mistaking Paradise for that home across the road!' (Bob Dylan)
RojDW48 is offline  
Old 30th Jan 2019, 10:07 pm   #7
G6Tanuki
Dekatron
 
G6Tanuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 7,632
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

In the past I've 'enhanced' the safety of Bulgin connectors by drilling a suitable hole through the side of the outer cover and into the body, tapping it 6BA and fitting a hex-socket grubscrew to positively-lock the cover to the main contact-carrying body of the connector.

If you're the type who is obsessed with original-appearance I guess you could rub some black shoe-polish or similar into the grubscrew-hole to conceal it.
G6Tanuki is offline  
Old 31st Jan 2019, 12:41 am   #8
RojDW48
Octode
 
RojDW48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,638
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

Good thinking - I considered something like that to save the fuss of changing to IEC, but my child is now old enough to know better - anyway her idea of hi-fi fits in her pocket !
__________________
'....don't go mistaking Paradise for that home across the road!' (Bob Dylan)
RojDW48 is offline  
Old 1st Feb 2019, 4:03 pm   #9
Chris_jenkin
Diode
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Upminster, East London, UK.
Posts: 5
Default Re: Power connection for Dynatron Cavalcade 3 round pin

Thanks dave I'll do that.

There was a socket on ebay but it was a bit expensive for something that may not work. You're right I'm just learning about all this - Thanks for the advice.
Chris_jenkin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:57 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.