UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Feb 2021, 10:41 am   #1
flynnd20
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
Default Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Hi, I am looking for advice on connecting our satellite TV set top box to our old TV. It's a Keracolour TV that we bought some years ago. The TV inside is not original. When we bought it, it had been retro-fitted with a more 'modern' TV and has a SCART and RF connectors only

The set top box has an HDMI connector only. Is there a modulator that anyone can recommend to convert the signal from digital to analogue? Is there a HDMI to SCART modulator or a HDMI to RF modulator that would work?

I've found some devices on eBay but wanted advice before I went ahead and bought anything.

Thanks for any help that you can give!!
flynnd20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 12:12 pm   #2
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 5,056
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

What you need is not a modulator but an HDMI to analogue video adaptor whose ouptut can be fed into the SCART socket of the set. Here is one example of many available for under 10.

edit: you may also need to acquire suitable cables in addition.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 12:17 pm   #3
Welsh Anorak
Dekatron
 
Welsh Anorak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Wales, UK.
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

If it's just a set top box without a recorder then the simplest option would be to get a second hand set top box and feed it in via SCART.
However if you do want to use your box you have then there are numerous converters available from the usual sources. Just make sure you get it the right way round - i.e. HDMI to AV. Then use a SCART adaptor. I see one 'HDMI to 3 RCA composite' adaptor on eBay for just over a fiver which is USB powered and would do the job nicely.

Post crossed with Dave's.
__________________
Glyn
www.gdelectronics.wales
Welsh Anorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 1:29 pm   #4
flynnd20
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Thank you both for your responses. It tried a HDMI to SCART converter, similar to the one linked in Dave's post, and it didn't work. Mmm....a bit stumped what to do next!
flynnd20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 1:40 pm   #5
paulsherwin
Moderator
 
paulsherwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 21,071
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Can you clarify "didn't work"?
paulsherwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 1:53 pm   #6
flynnd20
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Apologies, to clarify, when I used an HDMI to SCART converter, the picture did not display on the TV. This is one I purchased.

The box is a Sky Q mini box. Perhaps the converter I used is not compatible. Do I need an MHL/HDMI to SCART converter versus an HDMI to SCART? Is there a difference in the signals?

Thank you for your help!
flynnd20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 3:45 pm   #7
paulsherwin
Moderator
 
paulsherwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 21,071
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

That should work.

Did you select the Scart input on the TV? Was there any change in the screen at all?
paulsherwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 4:06 pm   #8
flynnd20
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Thank you. Yes, I have selected the Scart input. I think my next step will be to find another Scart device and test it on the TV to rule out an issue with the Scart cabling.
flynnd20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 4:22 pm   #9
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 5,056
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Quote:
Originally Posted by flynnd20 View Post
Do I need an MHL/HDMI to SCART converter versus an HDMI to SCART? Is there a difference in the signals?
Actually, I notice that images 2 and 3 on the Amazon page do say "MHL/HDMI", so I suspect this is the identical item to the one I highlighted.

As to the significance of "MHL" (if any), this is beyond my limited knowledge in this area.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 4:28 pm   #10
paulsherwin
Moderator
 
paulsherwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 21,071
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Quote:
Originally Posted by flynnd20 View Post
Thank you. Yes, I have selected the Scart input. I think my next step will be to find another Scart device and test it on the TV to rule out an issue with the Scart cabling.
Also, try a different HDMI device such as a Blu-ray player.

It's possible that the TV requires setting to use composite video rather than RGB.
paulsherwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2021, 4:30 pm   #11
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 5,056
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Yes, checking that a SCART signal is being picked up (using the same SCART-SCART cable) from another device is a good idea, thus proving whether the signal is being lost after the converter.

Another thought: is it possible that you have a SCART lead that only has the connections for sending a signal in one direction? If so, try connecting it the other way round - i.e. swapping the plugs between the set and the converter.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2021, 11:12 am   #12
Brigham
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Co. Durham, UK.
Posts: 993
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Is the TV otherwise known to work?
Brigham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Feb 2021, 7:44 am   #13
patrickgnl
Triode
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stourbridge, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Modulator/converter for Keracolour

Quote:
Originally Posted by flynnd20 View Post
Apologies, to clarify, when I used an HDMI to SCART converter, the picture did not display on the TV. This is one I purchased.

The box is a Sky Q mini box. Perhaps the converter I used is not compatible. Do I need an MHL/HDMI to SCART converter versus an HDMI to SCART? Is there a difference in the signals?

Thank you for your help!
Something easily forgotten is to make sure that the output of the HDMI device is set to 576i in the menu, the converter may not convert the picture format, just pass it through. Although looking at the device you purchased it is supposed to convert the various formats. Worth a shot though.



Patrick
patrickgnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 2:05 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.