UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Dec 2011, 5:12 pm   #1
Steve Helm
Retired Dormant Member

Default Roberts R900. Noisy volume control.

I recently bought a Roberts R900 and cosmetically it is in fantastic condition. It also sounds fantastic. But, when I increase or decrease the volume it crackles really badly until I arrive at the desired sound level. Once at the level it's fine.

Is there any easy fix? If so could someone please advise me on what to do? Apologies but I'm not too technically gifted.

Thanks in advance.

Steve

Last edited by Station X; 10th Dec 2011 at 5:56 pm. Reason: Title made more meaningful.
Old 10th Dec 2011, 6:13 pm   #2
ms660
Dekatron

Default Re: Roberts R900. Noisy volume control.

It sounds as if it needs cleaning, if that fails check for DC on the pot...shouldn't be any, if that fails change pot if available or if you can get one.

Lawrence.
Old 10th Dec 2011, 7:52 pm   #3
wireful3
Retired Dormant Member

Hello Steve,
When I get these symptoms my first step is to clean the volume potentiometer track. This is usually not very difficult and with the R900 I think it can be done without any major dismantling. The chassis can be released by removing three screws, two on the side just above the handle fixings and one at the base securing the FM aerial. This then enables the chassis to be pushed upwards a few centimeters to enable access to the volume control. From memory the leads are long enough so don't need to be disconnected.