UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 17th Mar 2015, 9:20 am   #1
mikeald
Retired Dormant Member

Default Bush TR230 problems

Hi all,
I am trying to restore a Bush TR230.
I am a novice at the hobby, but have previously fixed up a TR130.

I paid £3 for this radio, and it did not work at all when I received it.

The dial cord did not 'function' at all, so I successfully replaced that with braided fishing line after around 20 attempts
None of the wave change switches would stay down when pressed, so a bit of contact cleaner sorted that.
And finally I had to re tension the little strip of metal that acts as the on/off switch, as the radio would not even turn on.

After the above, I then had sound, allbeit of poor quality.
I then checked all of the voltages against the service data, and they were all within 0.1 of a volt (so I assume that is ok)?

As I had gone this far, I decided to replace the electrolytics.

I then checked the current draw, and it is pulling 22ma under no signal conditions and volume at minimum.

After replacing the electrolytics the sound quality was still poor. I.E there is lots of crackling and popping whilst tuning in. And when I do tune in to a station the crackling is still present and the sound becomes rather muffly.
This is the same on mw and lw, the 247m preset button is also crackly and muffly.

I am a bit stuck now, especially as this radio has a TAD 100 IC inside. I do not know what else I can check or test?

I can tell you that when I inject a signal at the volume centre tag, the audio comes through loud and clear. Does this definitely mean that the output stages are ok and the fault is prior?

Any advice welcomed please, I must be pretty close.