UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 29th Aug 2017, 10:45 pm   #1
Vakito227
Hexode

Default Caps: To replace or not to replace?

Hi all, I'm still not an expert by any definition at all but after the success of restoring my '58 HMV stereo record player I thought I would step it up a notch and buy an EKCO 9 Octave which looks to be from the same era to hopefully restore back up to a good standard. The good thing about this one is the amplifier unit can be unplugged and pulled out of the main case which makes working on it a whole lot less fiddly.

Anyway I have only given the amplifier circuit a quick inspection to weigh up what capacitors need replacing and which ones can be left be (such as polystyrene and micas). I was expecting to find polystyrene caps around the tone controls but instead I have found what look to be tiny versions of the infamous hunts capacitors. One or two appear to be cracked too but I thought I would check whether it is vital to change these caps before I start throwing money at the wall and also because these ones around the tone controls are very awkward and fiddly to work with.

I have also found a cap elsewhere in the circuit that I'm having trouble identifying. According to the circuit diagram, it has a very small value of 56pF. Any help identifying it would be appreciated.

Thanks
Peter
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0956.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	148605   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0957.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	148606   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0958.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	148607   Click image for larger version