UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Apr 2009, 11:18 pm   #1
stonehopper
Retired Dormant Member

Default Roberts RT7 - problem

Hello, first post here, and a complete novice to radios and their workings. Having fallen for an RT7 - based on 'I like the look of it', I find that after a good clean up of case, chassis, and screen - it don't work! It didn't work before the clean up, though having found a 9v battery to connect to, the speaker makes a small click sound when power is applied or removed, but diddley squat other than that. There are what appear to be two transformers on the chassis, one of which (the right hand one as seen from the back) gets warm to the touch after a few minutes of being 'on'. That's about all I can tell you, other than the controls operate smoothly, and all wires seem attached securely.

Clearly there must be one or more components in need of replacement or repair, but would it be possible to suggest a most likely candidate for failure, or is that a bit like asking 'my car won't start - why?'

Any help in advising a course of remedial action welcomed - but my knowledge of radio terminology is close to zero. Where should I start testing, and what with?

Derek
Old 19th Apr 2009, 9:17 am   #2
Steve_P
Dekatron

Default Re: Roberts RT7 - problem

First of all, a bit of good news : The RT7 does not have the AF11x problem.

The circuit is available up top there. You're getting power otherwise you wouldn't hear a plonk when you switch on.

So - Clean the wavechange switches, check all wiring. Can you put a signal in at the Volume Control? A CD player will do - earth to earth, other wire in at the centre pin of R23. (Volume Control).