UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 8th Sep 2007, 6:50 pm   #1
TimS
Pentode

Default French '330-1' telephone

My other half has acquired this French telepone which on the outside looks like a 300 series (if my browsing of the web has yielded correct info) but on the inside, possibly not.

How would I (or can I) wire this up to our phone line?

I have no prior experience of old telephones.

thanks in advance,
-- Tim.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Phone innards (Small).JPG
Views:	152
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	12151   Click image for larger version

Name:	Phone (Small).JPG
Views:	161
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	12152   Click image for larger version

Name:	Phone wiring terminals (Small).JPG
Views:	167
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	12153  
Old 8th Sep 2007, 11:02 pm   #2
AndiiT
Octode

Default Re: French '330-1' telephone

Hi,
The first place to check is this site http://www.britishtelephones.com/ and look for information on the GPO 300 series. (if you haven't already been there)

Is then original line cord still fitted to the telephone and if so does it have a plug or spade ended connections, also how many wires are there in the line cord?

Regards
Andrew
Old 9th Sep 2007, 1:06 am   #3
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

Hi Tim,

This is very much a French phone, and doesn't really have any similarity with the British 300-series phones, other than that it's black and roughly the same shape.