UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 1st Jan 2019, 8:08 pm   #1
jmggurr
Retired Dormant Member

Default Ferguson 771 repair

Evening folks. My first post in this section. I am a novice new owner of a Ferguson 771 purchased a few months back for £5. It powers up and hums but nothing else. The two glass valves glow.

As an idiot in this, it would be great to get a list of the most obvious things I should check first. I have multimeters both analogue and digital and i have downloaded and printed out the service sheet.

Many thanks in advance!
Old 1st Jan 2019, 8:21 pm   #2
Nuvistor
Dekatron

Default Re: Ferguson 771 repair

This section will give you much information that will help you understand your radio.

https://www.vintage-radio.com/repair...ion/index.html
Old 1st Jan 2019, 10:32 pm   #3
cathoderay57
Nonode

Hello and welcome. You say 2 valves are glowing. This radio has 5 valves. Are the other 3 missing? I recommend you don't power it on again until after you have completed some basic checks using the guidance in the hyperlink from the previous post. If you are also able to post a pic of the underside and top view of the chassis it woild help us to get a visual idea of what state it is in. You will inevitably need to replace some parts unless it has recently been restored by someone else. Cheers, Jerry
Old 1st Jan 2019, 10:38 pm   #4
Nuvistor
Dekatron

It’s possible the other 3 valves are metal enveloped I.e 6K8, or they could be missing as you note.
Old 2nd Jan 2019, 10:36 am   #5
TrevorG3VLF
Rest in Peace

Or the valves are in the wrong places.
Old 2nd Jan 2019, 6:24 pm   #6
jmggurr
Retired Dormant Member