UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 6th Mar 2021, 10:10 pm   #1
AmateurRepairer
Pentode

Default Murphy U198M help.

I have partially recapped and resoldered some of the joints on this radio (I’m no artist at it)

The original sound output had gone open circuit so a local member gave me a spare one he had lying around as well as a dozen magazines, you know who you are, thanks a bunch

I still can’t figure out where this black wire needs to go to. I believe it went inside the original transformer but I can’t do that on this eht as it is a completely different type. Also do I need to refit a resistor and also a capacitor as per the original set was.

This is going to be my bedside table set so it’s got to be right.

Thanks all
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2D73646E-0316-494C-AB75-D0C8A5D89BCC.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	88.3 KB
ID:	228466   Click image for larger version

Name:	1A6FCDDA-716E-4FDE-AAA1-3C6F4F42A974.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	228469  
Old 6th Mar 2021, 10:12 pm   #2
AmateurRepairer
Pentode

Default Re: Murphy U198M help.

P.s white wire I know where that goes. It’s the black one on the other side of the valve I am unsure about.
Old 6th Mar 2021, 10:30 pm   #3
paulsherwin

Aren't the black and white wires the transformer secondary which goes to the speaker?
Old 6th Mar 2021, 10:41 pm   #4
AmateurRepairer
Pentode

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsherwin View Post
Aren't the black and white wires the transformer secondary which goes to the speaker?
They are attached at the top of the picture.

The white wire is shrink wrap I have put on a above chassis capacitor wire which is being replaced as the insulation was like weetabix