![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
Vintage Computers Any vintage computer systems, calculators, video games etc., but with an emphasis on 1980s and earlier equipment. |
![]() |
|
Thread Tools |
![]() |
#41 |
Octode
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,195
|
![]()
I haven’t tried it yet, but nice to know its there.
I’m looking at options for trapping illegal instructions. Equivalent function to the PE article should be only two halves of a ‘74 and either dual 4 input Nor or ‘138. Then I got thinking about using a prom, or modern flash, to translate every instruction fetch with a lookup table, with a ‘245 to bypass the prom for all other data. Then the illegal instructions are all translated to XPPC P3 and the sense input is not used. The OS could read the instruction that caused the trap without translation. It wouldn’t take much more to extend this to provide a non maskable interupt |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#42 |
Pentode
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 249
|
![]()
I'll definitely be trying it in due course when I get around to building the micro-introkit. But I'm also thinking of hosting it on the LCDS as that should easily accommodate it and maybe even talk to the TELEKIT (eventually).
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#43 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]()
If you've at least 1.5k of ROM space and some wrap-around RAM visible below that, it should be just a case of
setting the baud rate back to 110 Ian ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#44 |
Pentode
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 249
|
![]()
Whilst I ponder my next move with TELEKIT I thought I'd try and get KitbugPlus running on the LCDS.
The NSC processor module has a SC/MP I (1MHz). The module at the front is a RAM/ROM board I made for something else, re-wired for the LCDS pinout. Currently 2K ROM and 2K RAM but can be up to 32K of each. It took me a while to remember that the LCDS is using SENSEB for TELEKIT and causing a conflict but once that was sorted KitbugPlus sprang into LIFE ![]() I'm using the 2400 baud version, but with Teraterm set to 1200 baud, as the 1MHz SCMP runs half the speed of the 4MHz SCMP II. Nice work Phil ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#45 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]()
Thats brilliant, oh I'm so chuffed, thank you Ian
![]() Any chance of zipping a few hi-res pics of the LCDS? Will you be taking it to Cambridge? Last edited by Phil__G; 20th Oct 2023 at 10:09 pm. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#46 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]()
Another throw-away demo:
https://youtu.be/V5eY8fGy9R4 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#47 | |
Pentode
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 249
|
![]() Quote:
![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#48 | ||
Octode
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Barry, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales, UK.
Posts: 1,348
|
![]() Quote:
|
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#49 |
Pentode
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 249
|
![]()
Thanks Tim, appreciate that. Looking forward to meeting people on the Sunday.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#50 |
Pentode
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 249
|
![]()
Here's a new program to run on Kitbugplus - the KitBug+ Digital Clock. Just a bit of fun, but it gave me a genuine reason to use the single step and halt debug features on the LCDS - not bad once you get the hang of the keypad layout.
![]() Enjoy! |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#51 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]() Last edited by Phil__G; 23rd Oct 2023 at 11:31 pm. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#52 |
Pentode
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 249
|
![]()
A v2 already
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#53 | |
Pentode
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 112
|
![]() Quote:
Presumably if an invalid instruction byte has Most Significant Bit set then it's a 'two-byte NOP' and the second byte will be ignored. But I've never investigated further. The maximum of 10 microcycles suggests a second Read Cycle is being taken. It seems that x08 is actually an invalid instruction that is known to 'use' 5 microcycles!
__________________
x^4 + x^2 + y^2 = 0 Last edited by circuitryboy; 24th Oct 2023 at 10:59 am. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#54 | ||
Octode
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,195
|
![]() Quote:
|
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#55 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]()
I was looking through some Elektor SC/MP stuff and found the Elektor ESS-02 tunes, Silent Night, Oh Tannenbaum, Jingle Bells etc
These binaries load directly into KitbugPlus on the 'micro introkit' board without any re-assembly or modification, and play perfectly (though a bit fast)! Just use SC00 and 'File, Send file' on Teraterm with 'binary' ticked, when the FTDI led stops flashing press reset, then type GC00 Audio appears on the flags as you'd expect ![]() Just in time for Christmas! ![]() Last edited by Phil__G; 24th Oct 2023 at 7:59 pm. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#56 | |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]() Quote:
Here ya go: Code:
;Main routine for displaying Clock on terminal DISP_CLK: LDI /PUTC-1 XPAH P3 ; P3 --> PUTC-1 LDI #PUTC-1 XPAL P3 LDI $1B XPPC 3 LDI '[' XPPC 3 LDI 'H' XPPC 3 LDI $06 ; 6 lines per display to output ST COUNT(P2) LDI $00 ; points to row in character table ST ROW_OFF(P2) AGAIN: Code:
DISP_CLK: LDI /IPRINT-1 XPAH P3 LDI #IPRINT-1 XPAL P3 XPPC P3 .DB $1B,"[H",0 LDI $06 ; 6 lines per display to output ST COUNT(P2) LDI $00 ; points to row in character table ST ROW_OFF(P2) AGAIN: Last edited by Phil__G; 25th Oct 2023 at 11:06 am. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#57 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]()
(Forgot to mention this, but the edit timeout got me again...)
I've got into the habit of clearing memory before starting anything, using Copy Down on ascending addresses: Last edited by Phil__G; 25th Oct 2023 at 12:42 pm. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#58 |
Pentode
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 249
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#59 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]()
Weird, this morning I noticed that the S command description was missing from the KB+ document, did I accidentally remove it or did I forget to add it in the first place, I dunno
![]() Anyroadup, the KitbugPlus.zip file now has an up-to-date PDF. No code changes. Cheese Pies Last edited by Phil__G; 27th Oct 2023 at 12:44 pm. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#60 |
Heptode
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 911
|
![]()
Sorry, spoke too soon, today I noticed that although the Copy command was working fine copying up or down on disparate or overlapping areas, it was actually copying one too many bytes.
Apologies but consequently there is a code update today after all ![]() KitbugPlus.zip Ta Phil Last edited by Phil__G; 27th Oct 2023 at 7:27 pm. |
![]() |
![]() |