UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 7th Feb 2019, 9:36 pm   #1
MichaelWay
Retired Dormant Member

Smile [Restoration AND Light Modification] Murphy 146

Dear All,

I finally purchased my dream radio: a Murphy 146. I got this beautiful model for £55 at an auction in Northern Ireland.

The bad news? I have no experience with radio restoration. The benefits? I am very willing to learn and take my time and money to do this safely and do this right. I also have a kind of father-in-law in his 60s who was a trained electrician for most of his adult life.

So, dear Vintage Radio users, I ask you to be my Senseis.

My goals:

1) To restore and preserve the original sound, functionality, and look of the radio.
2) To add a reversible modification that would allow me to input unamplified digital audio through the tube amplifiers, such as the circa 1940s Abbott and Costello radio recordings. Perhaps with a customised Raspberry Pi.

Step 1 is obviously my first goal.

Here is an album of photos of my radio: ********************a/NLVaGBr

So dear users, what is my first step? Replacing all the wiring with modern wires is what I would assume. Also would it be worth getting the radio revarnished? Do you think a furniture restorer could conceal that particular piece of damage to the wood?

Looking forward to your guidance and input.

Best wishes,

Michael
Old 8th Feb 2019, 12:32 am   #2
TrevorG3VLF
Rest in Peace

Default Re: [Restoration AND Light Modification] Murphy 146

There are circuit diagrams (schematics) available top right. The moderate cost supports this site.