UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 26th Mar 2017, 11:21 pm   #1
ahgough
Retired Dormant Member

Default Embarrassing problem with a Mission Cyrus One

Hi everyone,

I have a rather embarrassing problem... one of my cats has relieved itself on my beloved Mission Cyrus One, and it's no longer working as it should It switches on and I can hear something through the speakers, but the sound is very faint and tinny.

I've yet to take a look inside, but before I do so, what are my chances of repairing it? It's not entirely dead, so I have hope.

Any pointers for likely problems to diagnose, components to focus on etc., would be hugely appreciated.

Many thanks for not laughing... much.
Old 26th Mar 2017, 11:25 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Embarrassing problem with a Mission Cyrus One

How long ago did this happen? Have you given it time to dry out completely?

Urine (cat and human) is mostly water.
Old 26th Mar 2017, 11:41 pm   #3
Radio Wrangler

But the components which aren't water get left behnd as the water evaporates.

The best game plan is never to even try anything that's been wet with anything other than nice clean water. The conductivity of most fluids can apply improper voltages from neighbouring PCB tracke and components and result in damage.

It should have been carefully washed and dried before applying power. Some components like pots won't survive a wash, but they won't survive cat pee either, so wash soon and replace the bits that won't take it, dry carefully and try power.

David
Old 27th Mar 2017, 9:44 am   #4
Edward Huggins
Dekatron