UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Sep 2019, 9:28 am   #1
M3VUV51
Hexode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 260
Default Takeda Riken counter doesn't!

Hi all ive this freq counter takeda riken model TR 5823 0-1.3ghz,it has several inputs,a/b/c a is 10 hz to 120Mhz,b is 1Mhz to 50Mhz and c is 100Mhz to 1.3 Ghz,it wont count on input c!,the others are fine,from what i can tell ic 2 of the input section section on c is dead,ie the signal arrives at the input,all voltages are ok and the attenuator works but there is nothing on the output going to r65 or pin 12 of ic 3,would anyone know of where to get a replacement ic,or a work around,from what i can tell its an amp,pics and scematic attached,ive tried google but no joy,cheers Paul m3vuvHi all ive this freq counter takeda riken model TR 5823 0-1.3ghz,it has several inputs,a/b/c a is 10 hz to 120Mhz,b is 1Mhz to 50Mhz and c is 100Mhz to 1.3 Ghz,it wont count on input c!,the others are fine,from what i can tell ic 2 of the input section section on c is dead,ie the signal arrives at the input,all voltages are ok and the attenuator works but there is nothing on the output going to r65 or pin 12 of ic 3,would anyone know of where to get a replacement ic,or a work around,from what i can tell its an amp,pics and scematic attached,ive tried google but no joy,cheers Paul m3vuv.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Webp.net-resizeimage (4).jpg
Views:	91
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	191090   Click image for larger version

Name:	Webp.net-resizeimage (5).jpg
Views:	60
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	191091  
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2019, 9:32 am   #2
M3VUV51
Hexode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 260
Default Re: Takeda riken counter doesent!

Forgot to say it's the metal can IC in the picture marked TDH 516/2023.

Cheers, Paul M3VUV.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2019, 9:40 am   #3
Refugee
Dekatron
 
Refugee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK.
Posts: 4,218
Default Re: Takeda riken counter doesent!

The higher ranges on most counters are 50 ohm.
The lower ranges are usually 1 meg.
Try a 50 ohm output on your signal generator before taking anything apart.
Refugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2019, 10:08 am   #4
M3VUV51
Hexode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 260
Default Re: Takeda Riken counter doesn't!

I've already done that. It used to count fine. It's already in bits, looks like IC2 is !
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2019, 11:37 am   #5
Radio Wrangler
Dekatron
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 12,493
Default Re: Takeda Riken counter doesn't!

Usual fault is where someone has transmitted into it without enough external attenuation. C is the most likely victim and 1.3Gig input circuits are likely to be custom ICs as amplifiers and prescalers.

You might wind up designing an alternative section.

Takeda Riken became Advantest quite some time ago.

David
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2019, 12:24 pm   #6
M3VUV51
Hexode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 260
Default Re: Takeda Riken counter doesn't!

yup i think i transmitted into it,schoolboy error!!,im gonna shelv it,the other inputs work fine,my ts-700g is slighly off frequency with the dial by about 3kc,was going to try and sort that with it,not to worry,ill see if i can get another counter at a rally.73 paul m3vuv.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2019, 9:04 pm   #7
Dickie
Heptode
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St. Albans, Hertfordshire, UK.
Posts: 981
Default Re: Takeda Riken counter doesn't!

You could try removing the dud IC2 and connecting input to output with a small capacitor (100pf or so) . IC3 (the SP8786) is the divide by 20 prescalar and needs a capacitively coupled input for best sensitivity. If IC2 was the problem then the counter should work but with reduced sensitivity. Don't apply too much input level though!
__________________
Regards,

Richard, BVWS member
Dickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 6:30 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.