UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 11th Dec 2018, 5:08 pm   #1
Clarky-R300
Retired Dormant Member

Default Roberts R300 OC81's getting hot

Hello, a newbie here.

I have been reading a lot of good info on here for vintage radio sets, my primary reason for joining is that I have inherited a couple of vintage radios from my Dad.

My first project is hopefully to get working again a Roberts R300, however on installation of a new PP9 battery I get a whiff of something getting hot and using my finger discover it is the two OC81's that are too hot to touch.

Above the two OC81 (when viewed normal installation) there is a resistor (5.6ohms?) looks like it has blistering of the surface or is this the way the resistor is finished?

Thanking you in anticipation of some pointers/help.

Cheers

Clarky
Old 11th Dec 2018, 6:25 pm   #2
60 oldjohn
Dekatron

Default Re: Roberts R300 OC81's getting hot

Hi Clarky, welcome to the forum. Have you the circuit diagram ? It is available top right of this page for £1.99. Makes any advice given a lot easer for you to follow. .

John.
Old 11th Dec 2018, 7:22 pm   #3
Al (astral highway)
Dekatron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarky-R300 View Post
Above the two OC81 (when viewed normal installation) there is a resistor (5.6ohms?) looks like it has blistering of the surface or is this the way the resistor is finished?

Thanking you in anticipation of some pointers/help.
Hey Clarky, welcome to the form.

There shouldn't be blistering on the surface of the resistor. The transistors you mention are apparently passing too much current and so is the resistor.

It's best to leave the set unpowered or you might cause catastrophic damage to some components.