UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 26th Aug 2017, 10:15 am   #1
alfabarry
Retired Dormant Member

Default Sony TC-95A Quiet Line Out

Must stress I am a novice in these matters - I can change belts and apply switch cleaner and that's about it - and pose this to see if it's something capable of being rectified, rather than a design feature:

I have one of these '73/4 Sony "cassette corders" that appears to have had minimal use and functions brilliantly: i.e., plays at what sounds like the right speed, rewinds and ffwds at speed, gives clear and loud sound reproduction using the onboard speaker. Also records perfectly and has functioning tape counter and levels meter.

The only fly in the ointment (other than the inevitably absent bespoke power cord) is that when I use the "monitor" socket to output to my DIN-equipped radio, the volume is far too low. If I turn the TC95A to maximum volume, and the radio (any radio) likewise, I get an output that is just slightly too quiet for comfortable listening. I've used isopropyl on the volume and tone controls and cleaned the monitor socket using an interdental brush and isopropyl. To no avail - they were already crackle free anyway.

There is nothing wrong with the quality: sounds great. just too quiet. I think it should do better because I also have two TC-95s (one year older, a bit more basic and with assorted deficiencies) and these both output strong volume to my radios... in fact with both I have to keep the Sony volume at about half so that I get manageable volume control on the radio... they are that loud.