UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 20th Mar 2023, 12:52 pm   #1
Peter J Ward
Diode

Question Grundig 2035W/3D Tuning Indicator

Good Morning. I'm pleased to join your forum as a complete novice so please bear with me whilst I get to know the etiquette.
I am restoring the old family radio and at the moment struggling to get a decent deflection on the tuning indicator EM80. From the valve specification I am expecting a variation between 0 and -15V on the grid, but on a good FM signal (excellent volume, low noise) I'm only measuring about -1.5V, and the deflection on the valve is minimal. (AM signal produces less but I think I have an issue in an earlier stage.) Does anyone have an idea of what voltage would be reasonable to expect.
Old 20th Mar 2023, 1:58 pm   #2
ms660
Dekatron

Default Re: Grundig 2035W/3D Tuning Indicator

According to the schematic I'm looking at the tuning indicator is shown as a EM85.

Lawrence.
Old 20th Mar 2023, 2:49 pm   #3
agardiner
Octode

These sets were found with EM80 and EM85 indicators. I have even come across an original EM84 in one.

Have you replaced all the old capacitors in the radio? A leaky one could easily prevent the indicator from working correctly.
Old 20th Mar 2023, 3:06 pm   #4
Gabe001
Octode

This is a common issue and there are quite a few threads.

Common culprits include leaky capacitors, resistors in the environs of the tuning indicator gone high, a weak front end valve (commonly ecc85, I haven't seen a schematic for this model), the FM discriminator (upside down) electrolytic being leaky and aerial/reception issues beyond your control
Old 20th Mar 2023, 3:38 pm   #5
Silicon
Nonode