UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 29th Apr 2003, 1:24 am   #1
BHedberg

Default First thing to do when working on TV's

I always work on Radios and Tube Amps and when I work on them I discharge the filter caps once I unplug them. What are the steps in working on TV's?? I am interested in starting to work on them. I understand the hi voltage ultor has to be discharged could someone please describe the proper way to work on a TV and also do you ever trouble shoot it when on? Just curious where all the hi voltage places I have to worry about are.. Thanx BHedberg. I have my electronics diploma so I'm pretty well educated just never took the consumer electronics part ie TV's VCR's. Thanx Brian

Old 29th Apr 2003, 12:46 pm   #2
Duke_Nukem
Octode

Default Re: First thing to do when working on TV's

Just to start the ball rolling, the very first thing you should do is invest in an isolation transformer. Well, highly recommended for radio work too, but the much larger chassis in these sets are even easier to accidently touch and they are invariable connected to one side of the mains.

If you can, its nice to initially disable the line-output section. Usually, the (-ve) DC bias for the output tube relies on the line osc to be actually running, so if it stops be prepared for LOTS of current :-( Also it is invariable DC coupled (anode of osc -> grid of LOP valve) so there is one capacitor to change for a start !! If you are lucky there will be a fuse in the section which you can simply remove, otherwise maybe removing the connection to the LOP valve's top cap (remember to apply tons of insulation to the now floating lead!).