UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th Feb 2024, 3:57 pm   #1
Buncey222
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Location: Camberley, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 3
Default JVC Videosphere TV

Hello all. I managed to get one of these TVs but need some help getting it connected. It didn't come with the cable that connects sadly. All I want to do is connect an old Atari via coax. The TV looks to be an EU model as it's the 2 pin plug. Here's what its got on the back.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5275.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	292772  
Buncey222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2024, 4:27 pm   #2
ben
Dekatron
 
ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain / Wirral, UK
Posts: 7,557
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

As far as I know those connectors are obsolete, I think they had two square-shaped pins. You might be able to modify some small spade terminals with pliers and get them to fit. To these, you could then solder a short length of coax to a Belling Lee socket.
__________________
Regards,
Ben.
ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2024, 4:29 pm   #3
Buncey222
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Location: Camberley, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 3
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

Yes I found this but given the currency I'd agree they are EOL. I'm happy to bodge a bit in there but want to be sure there is no power etc.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf vhf _uhf 2 pin plugs.pdf (51.5 KB, 68 views)
Buncey222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2024, 5:42 pm   #4
60 oldjohn
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 4,071
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben View Post
You might be able to modify some small spade terminals with pliers and get them to fit. To these, you could then solder a short length of coax to a Belling lee socket.
This is one someone did earlier. They removed the UHF socket and soldered to the wires. Ben's idea keeps the set more original.

John.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_3477.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	292813   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_3478.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	292816  
__________________
My favourite text message "I'll be there in five minutes, if not read again"

Last edited by 60 oldjohn; 12th Feb 2024 at 6:00 pm.
60 oldjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2024, 8:43 pm   #5
Buncey222
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Location: Camberley, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 3
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

Can you use either UHF or VHF? I thought most old gaming consols used VHF although I've no clue the difference!
Buncey222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2024, 9:04 pm   #6
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 21,628
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

VHF = Very High Frequency. UHF = Ultra High Frequency.

The UK never used 625 lines on VHF, so unless your set can be set to VHF 625 lines you'll have to use UHF.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Reach for your meter before you reach for your soldering iron.
Station X is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2024, 9:12 pm   #7
Cobaltblue
Moderator
 
Cobaltblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Exeter, Devon and Poole, Dorset UK.
Posts: 7,000
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

From my experience Gaming consoles use UHF 625 line here in the UK.

Crossed with Graham

Cheers

Mike T
__________________
Invisible airwaves crackle with life or at least they used to
Mike T BVWS member.
www.cossor.co.uk

Last edited by Cobaltblue; 12th Feb 2024 at 9:13 pm. Reason: crossed with Graham
Cobaltblue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2024, 3:42 pm   #8
hans
Heptode
 
hans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway.
Posts: 637
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

These VHF and UHF were the standard before 1972, never seen them on anything newer. Is the Videosphere that old?
hans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2024, 3:46 pm   #9
Cobaltblue
Moderator
 
Cobaltblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Exeter, Devon and Poole, Dorset UK.
Posts: 7,000
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

As far as I know 1970 to about 78?

Cheers

Mike T
__________________
Invisible airwaves crackle with life or at least they used to
Mike T BVWS member.
www.cossor.co.uk
Cobaltblue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2024, 12:45 pm   #10
VinTech90
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2023
Location: Manchester, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 29
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

All models of the Videosphere for all markets used the same mould, so the British market ones still had the inputs for a VHF aerial but lacked VHF tuners. Where the VHF tuner would have been is covered with a blanking plate.
VinTech90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2024, 11:54 pm   #11
patrickgnl
Pentode
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stourbridge, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 115
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

Thats a strange set, presumably a very early UK market one. The spec label clearly says 240v and 3400UK, so it must be a UK model. Whether its 625 line only or 625/405 is anybodies guess!

There is a video of the usual UK model on youtube, which must have come out later (as described above) as it only has a UHF tuner. There was also a model with a clock (radio?) on the plinth.

The aerial sockets on the back of your set look like the ones Germany used to use before they used UK style coaxial sockets.

(I used to lust after JVC ‘novelty’ sets back in the day….)


Patrick
patrickgnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2024, 2:30 am   #12
kan_turk
Hexode
 
kan_turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 398
Default Re: JVC Videosphere TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickgnl View Post
Thats a strange set, presumably a very early UK market one. The spec label clearly says 240v and 3400UK, so it must be a UK model. Whether its 625 line only or 625/405 is anybodies guess!
625 line only - also produced in a 525 line version but never 405 line

J
kan_turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 5:18 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2024, Paul Stenning.