UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Aug 2023, 7:57 pm   #1
MarkAffleck
Diode

Default Philips TV CRT Socket

Hi everyone!

Hope this qualifies for the site and forums.

I have limited knowledge with respect to CRT televisions (I did discharge the tube - HV probe between Anode and DAG strap etc. and the high voltage caps before doing any work on it) and wonder if anybody can throw some light on what I have found inside the CRT socket of this Philips 14PT2666/05, Lo1.2e aa chassis. Please see the attached images.

The TV does start up and display the picture Ok, but shortly after a random time (usually moments or minutes) the picture sort of ‘fizzles’ out. Sometimes, if I switch it off then back on again it does it again, other times no joy. Then a few days later I’ll try it again and the same.

The CRT socket is a JEDEC B8-294 9 pin one. I can’t work out if what I am seeing is a shorted spark gap between pin 6 and pin 1 (G1 and G3 / Focus respectively as I understand) or an intentional connection. (Lack of knowledge strikes again!)

It is hard to see in the images, but the metal ring running round the bottom inside the socket does seem to be slightly bent in towards that stub on pin 6, as if it has been drawn in (Arcing?). I notice that the stub on pin 6 facing the ring is bigger than all the rest, so is that supposed to be a spark gap?

What led me to this ‘discovery’ is that I was just testing a few components on the neck board, resistors etc., and thought I had found a faulty 1.5K ohm resistor when I measured zero ohms across it. When I lifted one end it measured Ok, about 1420 ohms.