UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread

Old 3rd May 2012, 1:41 pm   #1
stevehertz
Dekatron

Default Hmm. What do I need?!

Ok, just so you know that I'm not a complete dummy.. I'm a former electronics engineer and was once probably one of the biggest collector/restorers of vintage TVs in the UK. The name's Steve Rowley. I sold most of my sets following a divorce in 1991. Quite a few pre-war sets, vision only sets, projection, side by side sets, post war 9'' inch sets etc.

So, fast forwards to now, I have just one (as yet unrestored) very nice condition Bush TV22. I intend to do a restoration and to get the set working as in 'viewing' it again.

Right, my question! We're now into digital broadcasting. I want to buy/create a 'set-up' that receives freeview terrestrial RF broadcasts and by way of a standards converter (and whatever else I may need) feed the correct signal into my Bush TV22 and watch programmes 'off air'.

Looking at the Aurora stuff, I dont think(?) I need that World converter for my needs? I was looking at the SCRF models. Would they do? So, can someone tell me what I need - in total - to do the job described; I mean EVERYTHING. For example do I need an RF front end? what form would this need to be? make/models etc. So to recap, I need a hardware string to accept an off air RF signal and ultimately feed an RF 405 line one into my Bush TV22. What does that hardware 'black box' comprise?