UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps)

Notices

Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps) If you need help obtaining components, sets or equipment, post a message here. Private buyers only - no traders. No swaps.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Feb 2019, 6:08 pm   #1
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Leak Delta 30.

Just got hold of a Leak Delta 30 amp, all working well and sounds amazing,only prob is the on off volume control is intermittant when turned up and down. I have cleaned it with switch cleaner and it made no difference so need to change it, so details of what I need would be helpful, there appears to be no marking on the original.

Many thanks.
Viscount is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 6:15 pm   #2
BRASSBITS
Pentode
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 104
Default Re: leak delta 30

That's strange it's usually marked on the side of the pot, have you removed it to look all round it?
BRASSBITS is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 6:29 pm   #3
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Yes I have, some very faded markings that I can't read.
Viscount is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 6:46 pm   #4
RojDW48
Octode
 
RojDW48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Oddly enough I have just bought one of these at an auction. Already cleaned the pots but I need to take it apart again to solve a contact issue with the phono sockets - I shall see if I can read the info on mine and get back.
__________________
'....don't go mistaking Paradise for that home across the road!' (Bob Dylan)
RojDW48 is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 6:48 pm   #5
ajgriff
Hexode
 
ajgriff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 472
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Hi-Fi Engine has the service manual. It's free to sign up if you're not already a member.

https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_li...delta-30.shtml

Alan
ajgriff is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 6:49 pm   #6
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 14,547
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Why not measure it with a meter? It appears to be noisy rather than open circuit, so should give the correct value.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 7:08 pm   #7
RojDW48
Octode
 
RojDW48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

It appears to be 20K Log - I assume the rest is a part number? 8DB L2 AB CTS
__________________
'....don't go mistaking Paradise for that home across the road!' (Bob Dylan)
RojDW48 is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 7:24 pm   #8
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

OK that's great, thanks for that.
Viscount is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 10:15 pm   #9
LeakyGrid
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southampton, Hampshire, UK.
Posts: 75
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

I have a circuit diagram which confirms that it is 20k.

Roger
LeakyGrid is offline  
Old 13th Feb 2019, 10:23 pm   #10
Michael Maurice
Moderator
 
Michael Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wembley, Middlesex
Posts: 5,540
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

If it has the on/off switch then you’ll have to get it made up.
__________________
Forum Moderator

http://www.michaelmauricerepairs.co.uk/
Michael Maurice is offline  
Old 14th Feb 2019, 12:20 am   #11
ajgriff
Hexode
 
ajgriff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 472
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

The Delta 30 has an on/off switch separate from the volume control so that won't be an issue.

Alan
ajgriff is offline  
Old 14th Feb 2019, 5:21 pm   #12
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

my delta 30 has a tandem volume with a 4 pin switch unit built into the rear of the pot,are they still available with the correct shaft length?and yes 20k seems to be correct
Viscount is offline  
Old 14th Feb 2019, 5:34 pm   #13
dazzlevision
Nonode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 2,149
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

The pot in your amp was made by AB and they are still in production: https://www.blore-ed.com/series45potentiometers

They will make up custom specials.
dazzlevision is offline  
Old 14th Feb 2019, 5:46 pm   #14
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

thanks for that,ive contacted them and am waiting for a reply
Viscount is offline  
Old 14th Feb 2019, 6:19 pm   #15
ajgriff
Hexode
 
ajgriff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 472
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgriff View Post
The Delta 30 has an on/off switch separate from the volume control so that won't be an issue.

Alan
My apologies. The Delta 30 does indeed have an on/off switch combined with the volume control. I was thinking of the Delta 70, sorry.

Alan
ajgriff is offline  
Old 14th Feb 2019, 8:07 pm   #16
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

not a prob alan ,hopefully i can get hold of one
Viscount is offline  
Old 17th Feb 2019, 9:15 pm   #17
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazzlevision View Post
The pot in your amp was made by AB and they are still in production: https://www.blore-ed.com/series45potentiometers

They will make up custom specials.
so yes they can supply a new unit for about 20.oo which seems good to me,will try one more attempt at cleaning it and see how it goes
Viscount is offline  
Old 18th Feb 2019, 12:35 am   #18
RojDW48
Octode
 
RojDW48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Worth a go - mine had similar problems but servisol cleared it. Also the grounds on the phono sockets were oxidised and working intermittently - check them too.
__________________
'....don't go mistaking Paradise for that home across the road!' (Bob Dylan)
RojDW48 is offline  
Old 20th Feb 2019, 2:56 pm   #19
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RojDW48 View Post
Worth a go - mine had similar problems but servisol cleared it. Also the grounds on the phono sockets were oxidised and working intermittently - check them too.
So here we are again with the Delta 30, so I've just cleaned all the pots with Servisol and cleaned the phono sockets and what a difference that has made, not a fault with any of the pots, seems to have worked better than I ever imagined.
Viscount is offline  
Old 20th Feb 2019, 3:11 pm   #20
ekjdm14
Hexode
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Congleton, Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 307
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Another win chalked up for Super 10 I've often found that really dirty pots can take 2 goes to get them quiet and reliable. If the first application and working the pot doesn't do it then I give them a drowning and let them sit a minute before working them back & forth.
ekjdm14 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 4:07 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.