UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Oct 2018, 2:19 pm   #61
Snarf81
Pentode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 131
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

I've just had the back off and taken a picture of the capacitor, also I sorted the colour problem out. I still need to sort the focus out but will leave that for when I get a bigger mirror to shove in front of the screen. Incidentally, there is a Teletext can on one of the boards, can I assume it's Teletext enabled? Obviously it's useless now but I remember that some of my home recorded Betamax tapes have Teletext information on it.

Thanks again everyone.
Richard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181013_130232.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	48.2 KB
ID:	170823   Click image for larger version

Name:	20181013_140944.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	170824   Click image for larger version

Name:	20181013_141317.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	170825   Click image for larger version

Name:	20181013_130624.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	170826   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20181013-WA0019.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	170827  

Snarf81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Oct 2018, 4:48 pm   #62
dazzlevision
Octode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 1,987
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

The word “WELDED” on the big blue LCR capacitor tells us it is the reliable type and should not cause any trouble.
dazzlevision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Oct 2018, 4:51 pm   #63
Snarf81
Pentode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 131
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Phew...
I'm glad about that, one less thing to change.
Thanks dazzlevision.

Richard.
Snarf81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2018, 11:19 am   #64
dazzlevision
Octode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 1,987
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snarf81 View Post
Incidentally, there is a Teletext can on one of the boards, can I assume it's Teletext enabled?

Richard
The fact your set’s IF board has that Teletext label on a “can” suggests you have a Teletext capable set, but to be sure, you’d need to see if there is a Teletext decoder board fitted, which won’t be on the main chassis, but fitted to the cabinet side or bottom. I see from one of your pictures that there is one cabinet mounted board, with a small mains transformer on it, so your set is at least a remote control type. There is another board on the cabinet side that looks like it is the remote control board. There is no small Teletext interface board on the main chassis’ decoder board, so your set will not be Teletext capable. Do you have the remote control handset?

Last edited by dazzlevision; 14th Oct 2018 at 11:29 am. Reason: Extra text.
dazzlevision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2018, 11:32 am   #65
Snarf81
Pentode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 131
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

There is a remote control that came with it but I'm not sure if it's the correct one for the set. I posted a picture of it along with that smoothing cap.

Thanks again
Richard.
Snarf81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2018, 11:53 am   #66
dazzlevision
Octode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 1,987
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Here is a photo of the G11 decoder board (the middle one), with the Teletext interface sub-panel fitted (it's the small vertically mounted board, with a cable form going into the top of it, near the heatsink with three transistors). Your decoder board doesn't even have the connecting pins for the Teletext interface board.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Philips G26C724 IF decoder timebase view - components side.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	102.5 KB
ID:	170903  

Last edited by dazzlevision; 14th Oct 2018 at 12:05 pm.
dazzlevision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2018, 12:36 pm   #67
dazzlevision
Octode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 1,987
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snarf81 View Post
There is a remote control that came with it but I'm not sure if it's the correct one for the set.
Richard.
The G11 is a Philips design and so is the remote, which looks like it is a suitable replacement for the original Dynatron branded item. No Teletext buttons on it, which reinforces my view that the TV isn’t a Teletext capable set.
dazzlevision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2018, 3:29 pm   #68
Red to black
Octode
 
Red to black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 1,641
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Indeed, my model number data shows the Dynatron CTV 63 as Infra Red frc (full remote control) and non text in the feature list.
__________________
I don't suffer from Insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.

Last edited by Red to black; 14th Oct 2018 at 3:33 pm. Reason: missed part of model number
Red to black is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2018, 5:05 pm   #69
Snarf81
Pentode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 131
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Ah ok,
Thank you for that information, at least I know now that I've got the correct replacement remote control and the set isn't teletext.

Thanks again
Richard.
Snarf81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2018, 11:02 pm   #70
simpsons
Hexode
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Harrow, London, UK.
Posts: 279
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Richard

I too am working on a G11 and on my version, a Philips, there is no clamp for the scan coils. It has been replaced by an incremental adjustment built into the yoke design which results in a "click" sound when you rotate the scan coils using the radial positioning lever.

First, of course, release the assembly by pulling the 2 levers away from the CRT bowl as shown in the diagram posted by Dazzelvision. I find it easier to adjust the scan to be vertical if necessary reducing the width to see the edge of the display against the CRT as any error is more noticable.

Because there are quite a few volts where your hand will be when adjusting the scan coil, I suggest you switch the set off each time you move it. You'll soon get the hang of it.

Chris
simpsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:00 am   #71
Snarf81
Pentode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 131
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Hi Chris,

Ahhhhh, that would explain why there is no clamp on mine then.

Thank you for this information. I'll have another go at it over the weekend as I haven't got the picture quite level yet, and thanks for the heads up about the live chassis! I'm doing all of the adjusting with the set unplugged. I just need to sort the focus out as around the screen is a bit blurry plus there is something wrong with the contrast whereby if it's turned to maximum and a bright image comes on then the top of the screen distorts and the picture flashes with an accompanying boom from the speaker.

Thanks again Chris

Richard.
Snarf81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:32 pm   #72
toshiba tony
Hexode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 429
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

This G11 wants it's a**e tanning. A noise coming from the speaker dependant on picture content is puzzling, but I seem to remember if the beam limiter comes in that could cause it. And regarding the "half live" chassis, just make sure you are not at (or near) anything that is at earth potential, iron, scope, radiators. Electricity should be respected but not feared. OK, I've probably raised a few eyebrows but you should be safe. You need to ascertain if the blurring issue convergence or a focus issue. These used split diode technology, focus issues could occur. Please post a pic or two of some lettering, perhaps of a freeview box in the menu mode.
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 1:32 pm   #73
Snarf81
Pentode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 131
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Hi Tony.
Thanks for the info.

I've taken a few pics but my phone camera doesn't like the tv screen flicker...

Thanks
Richard.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181019_132844.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	28.3 KB
ID:	171202   Click image for larger version

Name:	20181019_132908.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	171203  
Snarf81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 3:44 pm   #74
MALC SCOTT
Octode
 
MALC SCOTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Willington, County Durham, UK.
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

Check ht volts. Also RGB voltages. Do you have a manual? Malc.
__________________
Malc Scott
MALC SCOTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 4:32 pm   #75
Snarf81
Pentode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 131
Default Re: Dynatron CTV63 problem

I've downloaded the service manual but I don't have an oscilloscope, but I do have a multimeter (which I need to repair the battery terminals).

Thanks
Richard
Snarf81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 3:57 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.