UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 2nd Mar 2018, 11:09 am   #1
normanmk1
Triode

Default Wireless Set No. 19 to variometer coax cable advice.

Hi Guys,
ref Wireless set 19 mk2 - I am needing to make up a coax cable to run from the 'A' set aerial socket to the variometer.From 'Wireless for the Warrior' I under stand that this should be of 80 ohm impedance - I can find 50 ohm but not 80 ohm.What coax cable should I use? I also understand that the cable should be 42" long - is that correct?
Sorry if this seems a silly question but I am new to military radios so any help/advice that you can give me would be much appreciated.Thank you.
Kevin.
Old 2nd Mar 2018, 11:15 am   #2
G8HQP Dave
Rest in Peace

Default Re: ws19 to variometer coax cable advice.

If it is designed for 80 ohm then 75 ohm is the nearest widely available coax.
Old 2nd Mar 2018, 11:24 am   #3
n_r_muir
Hexode

Default Re: ws19 to variometer coax cable advice.

Hi,

I don't think that the length of the cable is at all critical, it is more a function of the particular vehicle installation than anything else. I have used two different versions, one 18" long and the other 24" long, there was no noticeable difference. The variometer setting for tuning up the antenna was just the same in either case.

Ross
Old 3rd Mar 2018, 7:35 am   #4
M0SOE_Bruce
Pentode

Default Re: Wireless Set No. 19 to variometer coax cable advice.

I believe Ross is correct. The length of the A set cable is not critical. It is dependent on the installation kit that was supplied. The B set had only two lengths that were tuned to match the aerial.