UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 8th May 2017, 12:20 pm   #1
Dickie
Octode

Default HP8903B keyboard

I have an HP8903B audio analyser with some very stiff pushbuttons. Some of the buttons work fine with a nice soft click as they are pressed. But most of them are very stiff and need a firm push to operate. Before I took it apart I had guessed it might be a rubber membrane that had gone hard. It transpires that they have (what I assume to be) a real piece of spring to achieve the click. I have no experience with these switches at all. So is this usual? Can it be improved? Or, since they all function as switches, should I leave well alone? You thoughts and experiences would be welcome!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1000005.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	142239  

Richard, BVWS member
Old 8th May 2017, 1:09 pm   #2
Radio Wrangler

Default Re: HP8903B keyboard

They are called "Bill West" switches after their designer. They have a little piece of gold plated beryllium-copper whose fingers press onto gold areas on the PCB. The rd plastic bit has two pegs which go through the board and are heat-staked at the other side.

The visible bit of stainless strip doubles as a clicker and the return spring.

They're in just about every HP instrument from 1980 to the early 1990s

NEVER ever junk any HP stuff with good ones of these switches, they'll be needed to keep other stuff going!

Details are here:

http://hpmemoryproject.org/timeline/...rt_06_chapt_03

David

Last edited by Radio Wrangler; 8th May 2017 at 1:22 pm.
Old 8th May 2017, 1:15 pm   #3
Dickie
Octode