UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 27th Apr 2014, 12:05 am   #1
SurreyNick
Heptode

Default H.T. 120 volts; L.T. 2 volts (accumulator) batteries?

Hi All

I have (what I believe is) an Etronic model WB430 battery operated (H.T. 120 volts; L.T. 2 volts (accumulator)) superhet that I am restoring. I am new to restoration and could do with a little advice regarding replacement batteries. I might consider building a simple mains-powered battery eliminator for the longer term, but initially (as far as is practical) I’d like to restore the radio to its original ‘as new’ condition and that includes running it on batteries. Although I will rule out the possibility of using a rechargeable wet battery, unless of course someone can show me a feasible solution.

The Trader Service Sheet states the four valves are: (V1) TP25; (V2) VP23; (V3) HL23DD; (V4) Pen25. Given the state of the radio when I got it I doubt any of the existing valves work. So my question is as follows: If I replace the valves, with more efficient ones, rather than early bright emitter tubes, can I power the radio with 90v H.T. and 1.5v L.T. replacement dry batteries and get good performance, or would I be better sticking to 120v and 2v (dry)? If I can go for 90v/1.5v, what easily obtainable valves (makes/models) would you recommend for best performance? Your advice would be most helpful and welcome.

[Note: I have attached images of the valves that are currently in the set.]

Thanks

Nick
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Valve 1 - type ARTP2 ZA3062.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	92035   Click image for larger version

Name:	Valve 2 - type Mazda VP23.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	49.7 KB