UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 20th Aug 2016, 8:52 pm   #1
delaitt
Pentode

Default Poor Video on Sony PVW2800P

Good Evening

I've got a PVW 2800R and i'm new to that beast. it's not that antique compared to a TV22 but is becoming vintage! I'm posting here as some forum members might be familiar with that equipment.

I bought a beta cam SP tape at the NVCF and the person i bought it from said it has been used once and the tape had been demagnetised.

The problem is that the video prior to recording is perfect, however, playing back a recorded video shows a bad quality video.

I'm not sure if i'm doing something wrong or that the poor recorded quality is due to the tape or something else?

Thanks

Thierry
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8132.JPG
Views:	202
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	128983   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8127.JPG
Views:	226
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	128984   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8131.JPG
Views:	188
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	128985  
Old 20th Aug 2016, 11:37 pm   #2
Stuart R
Heptode

Default Re: Poor Video on Sony PVW2800P

Hello Thierry,

That's a Component machine, with separate heads for recording luminance (brightness) and chrominance (colour) information and there seems to be a big lack of luminance on playback, I'm hoping it's not a serious failure.