UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Aug 2008, 6:17 pm   #1
tubesrule
Hexode

Default Latest converter project

I thought some here would be interested in my latest project. I've been working on and off with it for three years, and have spent most of the last year making steady progress. For this converter I wanted every feature of the other converters combined into one. This one can take any video input (NTSC, PAL, PAL(M), PAL(N), PAL(Nc), Secam) (composite, s-video, component YUV, RGB, RGBS) and output any known mechanical and electronic format (I think I have them all). I've coded every RF System and every channel into it (over 500 channels on 27 systems). It has a -12 to +20dB RF amplifier built in to the RF output.

For electronic standards it can generate any composite color format including NTSC, PAL, Secam and field sequential. I've coded all the experimental color formats I could find into it like 405 NTSC, 405 PAL and 405 Secam. For mechanical standards it outputs full simultaneous color along with the standard monochrome output. It has a full proc-amp built in, so the outputs are all individually adjustable.

In one picture you can see the plugin driver board. This board has three current drivers that can drive an RGB or monohrome LED load up to 20W. It also has a 20W audio amplifier that can drive the phonic coil on mechanical sets.

I wanted it to have the highest quality possible, so the video is digitized at 10 bits, while there are five 12 bit video DAC's for the output. All processing is done at a minimum of 14 bits.

So did I go to far overboard?

Darryl