UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 23rd May 2017, 9:49 am   #1
bendeneo
Diode

Default Serenade Stereosound 3 speed - advice on servicing

Hi all,

Total newbie, so apologies for anything stupid I might say.

I have bought a Serenade Stereosound 3 speed, with the 5 record autostack.

The seller said that there was crackling on one of the speakers, but other than that all working fine, so I thought I would take a punt and see if I can fix it up.

My thoughts are that it could just be bad connections within the speakers, or perhaps back at the actual player unit, either way I am happy to have a look and solder, replace where necessary (within reason of course)!

However, I figured that whilst I am at it, then perhaps I should do some basic servicing, and perhaps buy a new stylus/cartridge at the same time, or am I over egging things at this point and should just see what the crackling is? Or could the crackling be caused by the stylus/cartridge?

Sorry for the lack of knowledge, and thanks for any tips in advance.

Regards.
Old 23rd May 2017, 10:31 am   #2
dave walsh
Dekatron

Location: Ramsbottom (Nr Bury) Lancs or Bexhill (Nr Hastings) Sussex.
Default Re: Serenade Stereosound 3 speed - advice on servicing

Hi and welcome to the Forum. If you are keen to get into vintage technology [particularly record players] as so many people are these days, you might want to look at the stickies in this section-particularly "Reviving Your Record Player" which is very detailed and helpful.

http://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/s...ad.php?t=75401