UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 27th Feb 2021, 4:51 pm   #1
Bobblybob
Triode

Default Grundig TK144 - no sound

Hi all.
For some bizarre reason I agreed to have a look at an old neighbours reel to reel m/c as the control switch had stuck in one position and a belt had broken. Complete newbie at this, however I have managed to replace all belts, made and replaced the felt pad that presses the tape to the head, made and replaced the rubber bush that had disappeared that was preventing the control switch from working properly and cleaned , greased and oiled throughout. Mechanically it now appears to work perfectly, however when I run a tape through it that I know has a recording on it... nothing. No sound. Even the level needle at the front doesn’t move. Any clues as to what (and how) I have to check to find out why?

It’s also the one model that I can’t find a manual for.
Thanks for help and advice in anticipation.
Old 27th Feb 2021, 5:09 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Grundig TK144 - no sound

Is the speaker completely silent (no hiss, crackling, humming etc)? If it is, *and* the level meter isn't moving, then it sounds as if no power is getting to the electronics. Check all internal fuses before doing anything else. It's also possible that you've dislodged a connector while doing mechanical servicing.

It goes without saying that you should clean all the switch contacts with contact cleaner like Servisol 10.
Old 27th Feb 2021, 5:27 pm   #3
Bobblybob
Triode