UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Apr 2016, 10:32 pm   #1
Oliver35
Pentode

Default Very rusty Philips 470A

Hello- I'm a new member on this forum, although I have been trawling it with enthusiasm for some time. I'm new to the whole hobby, so I've joined up in the hope of gaining some guidance.
I've recently (yesterday) acquired a Philips 470A, which whispered to me in an antique shop and asked me to take it away. Fortunately I didn't have to pay an 'antique' price!
I was attracted to the fact that the Bakelite case and dial glass are in excellent condition, and although the chassis is very rusty, the set appears to be complete, unmolested and with the original valve line up. So far, all I have done is put a meter across the mains transformer and the valve heaters to ascertain that all is well in those departments, but a closer inspection of the chassis underneath shows that a complete rewire is going to be necessary, as well as any component replacements that may be required. At the moment I'm just contemplating the set and working out what to do next.