UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing

Notices

Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing For help with cabinet or chassis restoration (non-electrical), please leave a message here.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Jul 2007, 10:59 pm   #1
Broomradioman
Tetrode

Default Roberts leather strap handles -removal?

Dear All,

I have a the following radios with leather handles/straps that I could do with removing to clean both strap and wood.

R707 (black)
R600 (mustard)
R505 (black)
RIC2 (red)
Rambler (tan) rectangular buttons
Rambler (tan (round buttons)
RIC1 (black)

Any tips on how to remove the straps?

I am a newbie to the collecting of Roberts and Hackers so apologies if this has already been answered!

Cheers

Jim G7NKS Broom
Old 25th Jul 2007, 10:53 am   #2
Tom_I
Heptode

Default Re: Roberts leather strap handles -removal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broomradioman View Post
Any tips on how to remove the straps?
Remove the chassis from the cabinet, and you will see that the handle end fittings are fixed in with circlips. With care these can be removed and re-used. I use a fine pair of long-nosed pliers to grip and pull each of the three little tongues which grip the pin in turn, slowly working the circlip along until it comes off. To re-assemble, just push the clip back on. Flatten it with pliers if it has become distorted.

Probably best to remove the speaker before starting, to avoid damage. Also it's a bit fiddly in the smaller cabinets, as there's not much room to move, but I've done a couple of RIC2s, which are about the smallest model you mentioned, along with the Ramblers.

Tom
Old 25th Jul 2007, 5:12 pm   #3
Mike Phelan
Dekatron

I use the following method tor removing these Spire Nuts.