UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 26th Oct 2018, 12:17 pm   #1
Jordan T
Triode

Default RGD Radiogram 'Three- Fifteen'

Hello all,

Last night I came across the above Radiogram at a bargain price of £10. Long story short; I now have it home, given it a good polish and clean, however I'm having difficulties getting it to play properly.

Now before I go into the issues, here's a bit about me; I'm a Mechanical Design Engineer by trade, so I'm good with anything mechanical, but my electronics knowledge is limited past what you would have learnt outside of secondary school.

Onto the fun bit; the problems. Both the radio and the deck have issues. None of the radio's frequencies work. SW, MW, LW and FM. Nothing. The Deck works OK mechanically. You can stack 3 singles, and it'll load all 3 records as it should. Starts, stops and ejects well. Albeit it could still do with a strip down and a oil (which I shouldn't struggle too much with).

However, onto the biggest problem. The volume control/tone control seems to not be working as it should. When I first played the unit, the control worked reasonably but with a lot of static. So as I do with all static based issues like this, I sprayed some electrical contact cleaner into the pot. This seems to have made the control worse. Can these units be bought new or is it a case of carefully stripping down and inspecting the internals?

Taking the backing off. I did discover a date stamped into the casing; 14th October 1955. Also that the aerial is glued onto the backing board (I think this is the FM antenna?). This is disconnected, so where would I connect this? I'll take some photos of this when I next open it up.