UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 13th Jun 2018, 10:19 pm   #1
alpharadj67
Triode

Default Tellux Record Player (no model no.) - request for help

I am a novice trying to restore an old valve record player made by Tellux and as some threads on the forum have pointed out this is very much a 'made-to-price' type of machine. I’m doing this purely out of genuine interest in vintage electronics as a hobby, and am not intending to sell/pass these things on. This seemed like a fairly easy intro. to valve technology with its basic two-valve (UY85 & UL84) amplifier.

I’ve so far cleaned and re-greased the BSR C129 deck and this now works absolutely fine - the many threads on the forum on this subject have proved invaluable in the process. I’d really appreciate some help and guidance on the following issue, however.

The amplifier had a very loud buzz on it when first connected to mains and the noise/pitch was constant regardless of position of volume and tone controls. I found that the three-wire filter capacitor (red/yellow/'can negative') had come adrift on two points being those of yellow connection at PCB and 'can negative' connection at PCB (not surprising as this bulky/heavy capacitor was secured only by its soldered points to PCB, with no type of brace or clamp, and had been flopping about, thus weakening connections over time).