UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 25th May 2018, 9:12 pm   #1
Skyesue
Retired Dormant Member

Default Hearing amplifier for Telephone No. 706.

Hi.

Total novice here.

I've just bought a 1967 red GPO 706 telephone. As I'm hard of hearing I want to put an amplifier on it. The amp has plug in things and if I had push-in connectors on the curly handset lead it would work, but the curly lead is wired into the phone directly. So in theory I need to cut the curly lead and put on some connectors at each loose end so I can then add in my amp. With me? Is this possible?

Thanks.
Old 3rd Jun 2018, 8:40 pm   #2
Test Desk
Tetrode

Default Re: Hearing amplifier for Telephone No. 706.

With respect, I don't think you have the technical knowledge to make this modification. The GPO didn't make an amplified handset for the 706, what they did have was a another secondary ear piece called a "watch receiver" which you placed on your other ear so you had sound in both ears. You may be able pick one up on the Web but I doubt you'll get a red one.
Old 3rd Jun 2018, 10:53 pm   #3
Pellseinydd
Heptode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Desk View Post
With respect, I don't think you have the technical knowledge to make this modification. The GPO didn't make an amplified handset for the 706, what they did have was a another secondary ear piece called a "watch receiver" which you placed on your other ear so you had sound in both ears. You may be able pick one up on the Web but I doubt you'll get a red one.
I beg to differ !

To quote the relevant PO Technical Instruction -