UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Sep 2020, 7:00 am   #1
Gabe001
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 248
Default Antique loop aerial, mains powered

Hi,

Coming across a couple of these antique, mains powered loop aerials (copper or aluminium) for sale, mainly from Europe.

Has anyone got one and can comment on whether they work or are likely to.

I do like the look of them and they would make a nice and potentially practical accessory but they don't come cheap though.

Gabriel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200913-065134.jpg
Views:	288
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	215554   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200913-065123.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	215555  
Gabe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2020, 10:56 am   #2
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 14,857
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

No reason why they shouldn't perform as well as one with a single transistor wideband amplifier. Maybe even better for intermodulation with strong signals.

A simple home built tuned loop would probably work just as well though you would have to use a two handed tuning technique to sweep across a band.

https://www.4mcveys.net/2018/10/05/a...am-broadcasts/

gives the general idea.
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2020, 12:51 pm   #3
Gabe001
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 248
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

I'm afraid Mrs G will hang me from that frame if I bring that in the house!

Thanks for the info Chris. So what's the difference between the powered ones and the passive ones, performance-wise?
Gabriel
Gabe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2020, 4:02 pm   #4
rambo1152
Nonode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 2,272
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/socora...parasites.html
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2020, 5:04 pm   #5
Alvin
Heptode
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: East London, UK.
Posts: 689
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

I had one of these stylish French numbers several years ago but never got round to powering it up.
https://antiques-european-design.com...elard-in-1955/
Alvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2020, 6:16 pm   #6
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 14,857
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambo1152 View Post
Interesting.....

It's a tuned amplifier, not a broadband one. The mysterious box in the circuit contains a selector switch and some coils and a capacitor (at least that's what's visible) for LW,MW and SW.

The circuit is clearly for a later model since it shows an EF80 with different resistor values from the unit in the pictures which uses an EF42.

Attached is "English style" version of circuit.

Assuming that the actual loop is a simple single turn of chromed tube it would make an interesting DiY project.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5534.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	215603  
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2020, 6:33 pm   #7
Gabe001
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 248
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

If you ever do test it let me know

Crossed posts this was meant for #5

Last edited by Gabe001; 13th Sep 2020 at 6:40 pm.
Gabe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2020, 6:55 pm   #8
Gabe001
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 248
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herald1360 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambo1152 View Post
Interesting.....

It's a tuned amplifier, not a broadband one. The mysterious box in the circuit contains a selector switch and some coils and a capacitor (at least that's what's visible) for LW,MW and SW.

The circuit is clearly for a later model since it shows an EF80 with different resistor values from the unit in the pictures which uses an EF42.

Attached is "English style" version of circuit.

Assuming that the actual loop is a simple single turn of chromed tube it would make an interesting DiY project.
Nice work chris. I think I understand how it works now.
I believe there was a copper loop version and an aluminium loop version. The copper loop version allegedly performed better.
If someone here does make one, I'd be interested to know how it pans out.

Gabriel

Last edited by Gabe001; 13th Sep 2020 at 7:02 pm.
Gabe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2020, 5:01 pm   #9
Julesomega
Heptode
 
Julesomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 837
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

To avoid the need to tune the loop while you tune the receiver you should use an untuned amplified loop like the one discussed in the thread MLA-30 Active loop antenna for valve radios

I was very pleased with mine when used outside with a larger single turn loop, but I've just tried it indoors with 5 turns of thick copper wire, dia about 8 in. This gives good reception of the local and semi-local MW and LW stations, as well as all SW bands. You would need to experiment with a step-up ferrite transformer

Should fit in your radio, and you'd need to find somewhere around 12V DC for it
__________________
- Julian

It's good here
Julesomega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2020, 6:10 pm   #10
rojosuiza
Triode
 
rojosuiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 30
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

Those antennas are perfect for older tube radios - I have got 2 Belgian ITAX and 1 Swiss Komet, plus a gigantic passive SIEMENS one.

All of them give perfect results.
rojosuiza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2020, 11:17 pm   #11
Gabe001
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 248
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

Thank you Julian and Rojo.
Julian I've had a read of the mla-30 thread and how to make the transformer and may give it a go when I have some time.

Rojo, when you say perfect results, does this mean pulling local and foreign stations on all wavebands without noise?

Gabriel
Gabe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2020, 9:33 am   #12
Gabe001
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 248
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

The ITAX looks great and is quite rare from what Ive read
Circuit diagram attached and good info on
https://www.vintageradio.nl/Diversen...nne_engels.htm

Gabriel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Itax Universel.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	50.3 KB
ID:	216382  
Gabe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2020, 6:39 pm   #13
rojosuiza
Triode
 
rojosuiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 30
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabe001 View Post

Rojo, when you say perfect results, does this mean pulling local and foreign stations on all wavebands without noise?
It fades out unwanted stations and reduces the noise. It pulls in only the wanted direction.

It is very much working like a ferrite-antenne in a sixties radio, but it is meant for tube-radios, without a built-in antenna.
rojosuiza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2020, 6:50 pm   #14
Gabe001
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 248
Default Re: Antique loop aerial, mains powered

Thank you
Gabe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 4:23 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.